Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title *: Mr.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2:
Town *: Mountain Ash
County *: Rhondda Cynon Taff
Postcode *: CF45 
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:


Reference number of job being applied for *: 


I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes


Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I have raised four children of my own. My youngest is seven and has learning difficulties. I have attended speech therapy with him for two years and now he has been discharged. I am proud of him and my own efforts to help him progress. Also he was very slow to toilet train and it took years of patience on my part before he got the hang of things. I AM a very patient individual and think of others before myself. I worked as a handyman for over ten years, mainly helping community members older than eighty. I tidied their gardens, decorated, laid new carpet, repaired furniture, took them out to the shops, ran errands (and many other tasks). I thoroughly enjoyed meeting and getting to know those individuals and made some very good friends (sadly now departed).


What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: Empathy, consideration, understanding, patience. Being firm and focussed but never ever shouting or being demonstrative and bossy. I did teacher training once and was told by my mentor that a teacher should never ever shout at their pupils. I already believed this anyway. They said that once you shout then that means youve lost control of a situation. I talk calmly but firmly to my children and am strict but fair.


How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: There is strength in numbers, so they say. A person who is struggling to face the world independently needs others to show them how to undertake tasks and access all the facilities available to us all in the community and world. Every individual has unique needs and abilities. I prefer to concentrate on a persons abilities rather than disabilities but am mindful of both. To help ANYBODY you need to get to know them. Learn how they think and feel. Learn what they can and cant do. Then help that person to achieve more (at their pace). Never express disappointment in them. Always use positive reinforcement. Help that person develop, grow, experience new things.


What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: I have always enjoyed getting to know people and helping them. This transfers to all walks of life actually. For example, I witness a dog being knocked over by a van yesterday. I stopped my car and stayed with the injured animal while a vet and the police were summoned. I have strong morals and know the right actions to take when required.


What are your hobbies/interests?: I love driving and taking my children to interesting places such as historical areas and castles. Being out and about, either on a cycle or walking with my children and dogs gives me a great feeling of satisfaction and vigour. I love learning about other cultures, countries, languages. The origins of words used in languages. I’m currently learning Spanish and have a vocabulary of 3000 words but I’m not very good at speaking it. I love nostalgia. I am currently refurbishing old 8 track music players and collecting the old music tapes from the 70s. I’ve fixed a couple so far. I’ve always loved fixing things, from laptops to a creaky door hinge. I have always been creative. I am either writing poetry for children or drawing and painting. I painted a small collection of acrylic on canvas works entitled Sunsets and Silhouettes and held an exhibition at the Dare Valley Country Park in April 2017.


Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: Yes
Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: I am looking for 16 - 25 hours (give or take) at any time of day or night. I have child and animal responsibilities but these are flexible.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I am a single parent and as such it may not be possible to suddenly accept a shift at short notice. I have a very good relationship with the mother but there will be times that Im with my son and she will be out and unable to take the children to suit sudden out of schedule work requests from an employer. I expect you to appreciate that people do have lives and schedules. An employee/employer relationship is give and take and I believe everyone should be treated as equals.

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose relating to any convictions? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: rct
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 22
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /
Further Information: