Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title *: Mrs.
First Name *: Nicola
Last Name *: Wakeford
Address 1 *:
Address 2: Ferndale
Town *: Rhondda
County *: RCT
Postcode *: CF43
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I have worked in the social care sector for 20 years, I am a qualified social work practitioner who has recently moved into training and development but I would very much like to continue to work alongside individuals. I have worked as a social worker in various settings and with a wide range of difficulties through physical Ill health, mental ill health, learning disability and with life threatening illnesses. I have many skills in which to build effective and meaningful working relationships with individuals and their families. My current post is a part time post and I work Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday with student social workers who have their placement in RCT. I wish to continue practising the social work values of respect, empathy and unconditional positive regard that are instilled in me and hope I have evidenced here the range of experiences that I can bring to you, in this role.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: Having worked in social care for many years, I am able to build relationships with individuals quickly but also sustain a healthy working relationship that is based on trust and openness. I have a non judgemental attitude towards individuals who face some barriers within society due to their disability and will strive towards individuals being treated with equality and respect, as this is what I expect for myself and my family. I am extremely reliable, hard working and will ensure your care and support needs are maintained with confidentiality. I have a laid back personality and will be able to support you in ways, in which your own independence can develop.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I can contribute in ways that I will remain very focussed on the outcomes in which the individual will want to achieve. If an individual has a specific goal no matter how big or small, it is important to talk about this and plan ways in which this can hopefully be achieved, even if only in part. I would very much like to be a part of this journey for an individual, it is something I miss no longer being a social worker on the frontline and I would like the opportunity to re-engage with individuals who are experiencing difficulties with their daily lives. I am aware of the resources available to individuals within RCT as means of reducing isolation and building networks.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: As I have mentioned, I am a social worker still registered with Social Care Wales but as I secured a post within RCTs training and development team, I am now working with student social workers but I miss the direct work with individuals. I would very much like the opportunity to continue to practice my social work skills and values but I am only available on a Monday and Friday (some flexibility maybe an option). I believe I could contribute positively to your situation in terms of supporting you to develop in some areas and hopefully reduce any barriers that you may experience.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I have two children age 8 & 10 who keep me very busy. I have a dog who we all enjoy walking. I enjoy movies, listening to music, socialising with friends. I am a family person who has life long friends that are also an important part of my life.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: Yes
Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: Mon and Fri 10am-2pm
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.:

In what capacity do you know this person (should not be a family member)? *: Current manager
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: RCT
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 6-8
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Friday AM/
Further Information: