Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title *: Miss.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2:
Town *: Pontypridd
County *: M GLAM
Postcode *: CF37
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I have a post graduate certificate in counselling skills, and have attended many mental health related courses - Mental Health First Aid, ASIST, SURE for Mental Health, and most recently Seeing the World Through Different Eyes: Counselling Clients on the Autistic Spectrum which was a one day course on how people on the autistic spectrum can communicate differently, and how to listen and communicate effectively. My current employment is a customer service type role within a heating company so Im not going to talk about that because it is for the most part not relevant. My relevant experience is mainly with St John Ambulance where I volunteered from age 14 up until recently (Im about to turn 28), and Nightline which is a listening service I volunteered with during university. Both of these roles emphasise treating people with respect at all times, and maintaining confidentiality. Within work and my daily life, I like to build loose structures - setting a list of things which need completing and giving them approximate start times, while remaining flexible for things running over or other tasks cropping up which need priority.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: Being respectful and making sure to treat people as individuals not their conditions. Understanding that someones condition may mean that they dont always behave in the same way, and that it is not a personal attack. Promoting independance whereever possible, and not taking away someones ability to make their own choices. Youre literally going into someones life and home to help them while they may be at their most vulnerable, this needs to be acknowledged and accepted.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I am a very caring person who is driven to help people who need it for whatever reason. I have trained and practiced first aid for over 10 years and am comfortable in setting boundaries in order to ensure privacy and dignity so feel I would be able to be a good advocate in public for someone if they needed it. One of my quirks is that I really enjoy using spreadsheets, in work I tought myself various formulas in order to make the work more streamlined, and in my personal life I have built a spreadsheet which I use to track mine and my partners spending in order to budget - I would love to be able to help someone set up similar if they wanted! I really enjoy going to museums and events, particularly to experiences that I have not had before- the person who I was providing support for would not ever need to worry that I was not interested in the activities we took part in because I have enthusiasm for supporting people in their interests, and in learning about new things for myself. I think that this would be really important because disabled people can often feel like they are a burden - I would like to think of the role less as a job but more of providing companionship and support.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: I have personal experience of being stuck in the hosue for both physical and mental health related reasons, so know what it feels like to lose independance. Through my experiences I have developed into a person who is driven to caring roles in order to help people with their journeys, whether this is recovery or management of symptoms, in a way that helps them to be as independant as possible.
What are your hobbies/interests?: Games - lately I have been playing Animal Crossing and My Time in Portia, but I also enjoy RPGs with a story line and puzzle element such as Tomb Raider. I also have a collection of board games of varying types and difficulties which I would love to bring to play together if wanted! Reading - I used to read a LOT and lately am trying to get back into it. The discworld books are some of my favourites, and I am currently reading another of Terry Pratchetts books - Good Omens Films/TV - I do enjoy watching films, often family friendly ones, sometimes horror. I quite enjoy watching Anime and Chinese/Japanese dramas Exercise - I make myself go for a walk most days, and really enjoy swimming. Im not the fittest person but Im trying to build myself up - when lockdown is over I will go back to doing low impact circuit classes at the gym. Food - I love getting out to try new cuisines I particularly like places where there is the option to order several small dishes instead of one large so I can try lots of things! I am vegetarian so I would prefer going places where there is an option I am able to eat.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: Yes
Are you a vehicle owner? *: No
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: Any days and evenings (not nights) but working around partners shift pattern if working less than 20 hours.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I currently share a car with my partner so if I am working a small number of hours, my shift pattern will have to be counter to his. I would be happy to be contacted to provide cover/swap shifts but may not be able to do so. I know his shifts well in advance so will be able to discuss this with employers to ensure that their needs are met. If I am able to find employment that is 20 hours I will be looking to buy a car for myself.

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Pontypridd and surrounding areas
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 25
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /
Further Information: If travelling out of the immediate Pontypridd area, I would be unable to work shifts less than 4 hours regularly due to costs/time taken for travel. I share transport currently, if I am working under 20 hours in total then shifts will be based around those of my partner, but I know his shift pattern months in advance so planning would be possible. If over 20 hours then we will be purchasing a second car.