Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title *: Mr.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2:
Town *: Talbot Green
County *: Rhondda Cynon Taf
Postcode *: CF72 
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: Summary of Qualifications 1987 - GCSEs (English Literature, English Language, History, Welsh, General Science, Biology) 1991 – Healthcare Assistant (Level 2) 1994 – State Enrolled Nurse (SEN) 2001 – NVQ Level 2 in Healthcare 2001 - ECDL 2017 – SCIF (Social Care Induction Framework) Training History (last 5 years) POVA, Fire Safety, Food Hygiene, Moving & Handling, Medication Awareness, Infection Control, Health & Safety in the Workplace, Food Hygiene, Mental Health Capacity Act Work History November 2019 to present Peripatetic Support Worker Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council Supporting individuals with learning disabilities to live independently in the community and help them to maintain a healthy and productive lifestyle. January 2019 to August 2019 I took time off from work for family reasons. My husband was re-locating with his work and I took time off to find a new house and project manag the refurbishment of the house we bought in Rhondda Cynon Taf. Aug 2018 to December 2018 Support Worker Perthyn Housing, Head Office, Vivian Court, Llys Felin Newydd, Phoenix Way, Swansea, SA7 9FG Working with adults with challenging behaviours to ensure they are kept safe in their own home environment and the community. Sep 2017 to Aug 2018 I took time off to renovate our new home. Nov 2014 to Aug 2017 Owner / Proprietor Drumore Bed & Breakfast, Traveller’s Rest, Llysonnen Road, Carmarthen, SA31 3RS My husband and I owned and ran a small bed & breakfast business on the outskirts of Carmarthen. After selling the business in August 2017, I took a year out of the workplace to project manage the renovation of our new home. June 2012 to Nov 2014 Relief Care Worker Perrott’s Lodge, Avallenau Drive, Merlin’s Bridge, Haverfordwest, SA61 1XN My duties here involved caring for elderly individuals who were resident for respite care. September 2011 to January 2012 Customer Assistant (part time) Marks & Spencer, Withybush Retail Park, Haverfordwest, SA61 2PY My duties included working in the fast-paced coffee shop and providing cover in the seasonal “Christmas Shop” October 2009 to May 2011 Support Worker Elliot’s Hill, Crowhill Road, Haverfordwest, SA62 6HT My duties included providing support and 1-2-1 care for clients. April 2008 to October 2009 Recruitment Consultant Allied Healthcare, 2 Old Bridge Street, Haverfordwest, SA61 2ET My duties included recruiting new members of staff, interviewing applicants, managing the CARYS database system, arranging training days, telephone contacts and general office duties. January 2006 to April 2008 Support Worker (via Allied Healthcare) Opportunity Housing, Haverfordwest, SA61 2LH My duties here involved co-ordinating the day-to-day living of clients in the house in liaison with social healthcare networks and multi-disciplinary teams. January 1989 to January 2006 State Enrolled Nurse / Discharge Co-ordinator Withybush General Hospital, Fishguard Road, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, SA61 2PZ I worked at Withybush Hospital for 17 years in various roles. These included ward clerk, healthcare assistant, state enrolled nurse, Orthopaedics Nurse, rehabilitation assessor and discharge co-ordinator.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: A person-centred approach to care delivery Good inter-personal and communication skills Empathy Understanding Using the provided equipment / aids appropriately for the safe delivery of care Respecting privacy and confidentiality, particularly when delivering personal care Helping the client reach their fullest potential
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I have over 30 years experience in the care sector, including 15 years nursing at Withybush Hospital in West Wales. My many roles included working as a discharge co-ordinator ensuring that care packages were put in place to facilitate clients return to their own home and resumption of independent living. I have an excellent understanding of the person-centred approach to delivering care and believe in supporting people to reach their fullest possible potential in a safe and secure environment, helping them integrate and play a part of their local community.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: I like working as part of a team but I really enjoy being able to build up one to one relationships with my clients, getting to understand them and helping then achieve their goals and ambitions. The delivering of personal care is often intrinsic to the PA role and building up this level of trust and interaction is crucial for the health and well-being of the client. Having worked in the care industry for most of my adult working life, I also enjoy the flexibility of the working patterns the role can offer as I am used to working nights, weekends and hours that most people see as unsocial.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I enjoy cooking, photography, gardening and looking after our rescue dachshund, Dexter.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: Yes
Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: I am availale for any shifts / hours
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: No
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.:

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Within 15 miles of CF72 8HW
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: Upto 30
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/
Further Information: