Personal Assistant Application Form Submission Title *:  First Name *: Last Name * Address 1 *: Address Town *: Rhydyfelin County *: RCT Postcode *: Phone number *:  Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:  Reference number of job being applied for *:  I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: Employment From 2013 - Present: RCT Childrens Services Assessor Care Manager in the Intensive Intervention Team Working with children who are looked after or subject to a care and support plan. Organising and facilitating meetings. Visiting children and families. One to one work and signposting and referrals to other agencies. From 2010- 2013 Early Years and Family Support Services Adult Advisor in the Genesis Team Giving advice and guidance to individuals on education employment and training opportunities. Offering one to one support helping to remove obstacles to people’s personal development. Group work – personal development courses and workshops. Multi agency working. From 2005 - 2010: Action for Children, Pontlottyn Family Centre Young Families Project Worker One to one work with young parents and their children. Group work delivering parenting groups and personal development workshops. Compiling assessments and quarterly reports and attending child protection meetings. Multi agency working. From 2004- To 2005: Caerphilly Citizens Advice Bureau Youth Caseworker Offering advice and guidance to young people in the Caerphilly and Bargoed CAB youth courts and Risca comprehensive school. Outreach work in Pontlottyn Family Centre. From 1999 to 2002 Coleg Morgannwg Learning Support Assistant Offered support that met the needs of individuals and ensured they were safe whilst in the college environment and made the most of their learning opportunity. From 1999 to 2000 Hollies Nursing Home Supported and cared for the elderly residents in the nursing home. Education From 2017 - 2018: RCT Training QCF Health and Social Care Children and Young People – Diploma Level 3 From Sep 2002 - To June 2004 University of Wales College Newport BA Diploma Community Studies/Youth and Community Work Coleg Morgannwg From Sept 2011 To June 2012 Sep 1994 to June 2002 NVQ Level 3 Reflexology Advanced GNVQ Business and Finance English Language, Biology, Psychology, Mathematics, Counselling Skills. From Sep 1981 - To June 1986 Ysgol Gyfun Rhydfelen O Levels Welsh and English Literature Employment and Work Experience Relevant experiences I have cared for a family friend who suffered from multiple sclerosis and a family member who had Downs Syndrome and epilepsy and dementia. Im aware of the impact this also has on the extended family and support networks. I have knowledge of the impact of acquired brain injury and how this effects the individual and the type of support that is needed to function and adapt after a life changing event. I also run a home, currently work full time and have two adult children. What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: To work from a basis of empathy and respect and preserving a persons dignity and understand that support is needed for them to achieve their goals and ambitions. To maintain privacy and confidentiality especially when working in another persons home. To have standards and ethics of professional practice ensuring their safety and personal wellbeing but to seek advice or report safeguarding concerns. To be honest, reliable, punctual and trustworthy and conscientious about the work undertaken. To be flexible and adaptable and able to think on your feet. Work with a person centred approach and promoting independence and have a can do attitude. Having a non judgemental approach and anti discriminatory with their practice with good levels of communication and mutual trust and understanding. To have an awareness of health and safety, hygiene and cleanliness especially with those whos immune system is compromised. To seek guidance/training for tasks that are unfamiliar and ensure that tasks are matched to ones own relevant experience knowledge and skills. How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I live locally and know the residential area very well and would be able to assist with activities within the local and extended community. For the last 20 years of my professional career I have worked with young people, children and adults in a supportive capacity in various settings. I work from a person centred approach and am very hardworking, conscientious and trustworthy. Im seeking a role where I can be physically active and on the go and able to use the skills I have gained to support others. I understand the responsibility of the role and the need to empower and promote independence and also to have a sense of humour when needed. I am a mother of two grown up children and understand the responsibilities of managing a home, caring for children and trying to undertake education and forming a professional career. I am kind and caring and have a sense of humour and make the most that life has to offer. Im very pro active and positive in my attitude and believe that each of us have the potential to live out lives fully despite issues that can get in our way. What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: To assist and support another person to achieve their goals and ambitions is a very rewarding role. Id like to work with adults on a one to one basis to facilitate independence and enable them to participate fully in their day to day lives. Im seeking a change of career and a slower pace in my working life and this role would enable me to do that. I see it as a mutual exchange as a new role will enable me to learn new skills and knowledge whilst supporting and assisting someones emotional and physical wellbeing. What are your hobbies/interests?: I have varied interests and particularly enjoy being outdoors, gardening or walking in the countryside. Im interested in nature, permaculture and sustainability. I enjoy reading, listening to music watching films and painting and travel and leaning about local history. I also like to meet with family and friends in local coffee shops and shopping when the mood takes me. I am very practical and able to sew and enjoy craft type activities and being creative. Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes Do you drive? *: Yes Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes Do you smoke? *: No Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: Monday to Friday but will consider weekend work. Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I have to give 4 weeks notice to my current employer. Id be happy to work on a casual basis if I manage to obtain at least one part time post through Dewis. Im a non smoker and can drive a minibus and like pets. Name *:  In what capacity do you know this person (should not be a family member)? *: from the local community voluntary group Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/ Please provide details if necessary: I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes I consent to the above *: Yes I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: RCT How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 30 Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/ Further Information: I have my own car and able to drive a mini bus