Quote ref: CDF KB on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am looking for a fun, outgoing, sensible and resourceful person to provide me with 1:1 support to go about my life whilst studying music at Cardiff University.

I am a 20 year old female with a number of medical conditions. I have Functional Neurological Disorder, frequent non-epileptic seizures and fibromyalgia. I therefore use a powered wheelchair most of the time and need varying degrees of help with everyday tasks depending on my health.

PURPOSE OF JOB

To help me go about my day to day life at home and support me in going to University.

PLACE OF WORK

In my home living in student halls and at University.

HOURS OF WORK

Shift patterns: 12 hour shifts. Day shift: 7:30am - 7:30pm. Night shift: 7:30pm-7:30am. Night shifts are waking nights.

Shifts currently available: I have many shifts available so please do apply.

I am also looking for bank staff to provide occasional, particularly at weekend or sick cover.

You are required to work as part of a team of people who will be providing my care.

RATE OF PAY

£10 per hour

TASKS INVOLVED

This job will consist of Personal Care and Social Duties:

Personal care needs can include: showering, toileting, dressing, manual handling with use of hoist, medication management, making food and light household chores. Occasionally you must be willing to push me in my manual wheelchair.

Medical needs: I require 1:1 support all of the time due to my frequent seizures. You will be required to address my seizures when they occur and monitor me in the appropriate way. You will be required to assist me with my physiotherapy and at times monitor my medication.

I also have quite challenging mental health needs so a good awareness of mental health is essential.

Social Duties include: supporting me in my everyday life. This will include helping me to get up in the morning and getting to bed at night as well as accompanying me to lectures and other activities included in my course e.g. attending rehearsals and concerts. I will also need accompanying to any social activities I wish to take part in such as going out in the evening and generally joining in student life.

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

I am looking for a Personal Care Assistant who is able to be professional and provide my care in an appropriate and safe way, but who is also willing to be more of a friend than an employee. I need a genuine, kind person who is also able to provide emotional support. But someone who is also fun and who has a good sense of humor too!

Due to personal care needs a female PA would be preferred.

ABOUT THE JOB

You are required to work as part of a team of people who will be providing my care.

Knowledge of First Aid and Manual Handling is essential.

A clean UK driving license is essential and you must be willing to drive my wheelchair accessible vehicle.

If you feel that you are the person for this position, please do apply.

License’s required:

  • Driving License

  • DBS Certificate

  • Manual Handling Awareness

  • Mental health awareness (preferred)

  • First Aid at Work

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.