RELIEF PERSONAL ASSISTANT - JOB DESCRIPTION
for Rosaleen Moriarty-Simmonds OBE

YOUR JOB TITLE IS:

Personal Assistant (PA)

SOME DETAILS ABOUT THE JOB:

My name is Rosie. I am a wheelchair user, with shortened arms and legs - caused by the drug Thalidomide. Although I am an independent person, I do need help to accomplish some tasks. As my Personal Assistant (PA) you will give me the sup-port I need to continue to enjoy this independence. I like to work together with my PA in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. But at the end of the day, you have to remember that I am the employer, and you will be directly accountable to me.

I live with my husband and our son. We run our own Disability Issues Consultancy business. I am also an Artist (a Mouth Painter with the Mouth and Foot Painting Artists); and a freelance media presenter.

Our household is busy, noisy, organised and full of fun. I enjoy socialising, travel-ling, writing, photography, painting, the internet, reading and TV. I am involved with a number of organisations of disabled people. Most of all, I love being a Mum.

MAIN TASKS AND DUTIES of the JOB:

As my PA your main tasks and duties will be to assist me in all areas of my day-to-day life.

■ Personal help
Every morning I need help to get out of bed, and to go to the toilet. I need assis-tance with wiping and getting dressed. You will have to help me take my medica-tion, wash/shower, do my hair and help with general grooming (like make-up and nails), And then prepare and clear away my breakfast.

■ Domestic help
Think of all the things you do for yourself - such as making/changing the beds, loading/unloading the dishwasher and washing machine, ironing, emptying bins, preparing food. Then there are other household chores such as vacuum-ing/mopping floors, polishing/dusting, cooking, sewing, shopping etc - that are all done as and when required. There might also be some pet maintenance.

■ Non Domestic help
Most of these items are more occasional than daily, but would generally be: main-taining equipment - such as taking my electric wheelchair on/off charge; helping with correspondence. Sometimes I need help facilitating at meetings, work and studying, and with my hobbies. This might involve helping me with the toilet, at lunchtime, scribing, photocopying, filing. The list really is endless, and includes many other practical tasks such as travel, Library visits, and preparing my paints or other items for me to use throughout the day.

■ Other help
As well as the things I have mentioned above, there may be other tasks that may be reasonably requested by me, as employer, and agreed between us.

THE PERSONAL QUALITIES I LOOK FOR IN A PA:

I am looking for a PA with the following qualities, and for the following reasons:

■ You must be reliable, trustworthy and honest
As my PA you are providing me with the support I need to be independent. For that reason, I need someone I can rely on to turn up and do the job when needed. As many of the tasks you will do for me are of a personal nature; and you are working in my family home, we have to build a relationship of mutual trust and respect.

■ You must be punctual
I need you to arrive for work at the agreed time, and this is usually 5 minutes before start time, ready to start punctually. If, for some reason, you may be late, you must telephone me as soon as possible - especially if you are going to be more than 5 minutes late. If you have to take sick leave, you must give me as much notice as possible. Please don’t leave it until the last moment, as I will have to arrange alternative cover.

■ You must be discreet
When you are helping me, or have access to personal information, you must keep such information confidential. It is also important that you can dress appropriately and respond to working in different circumstances. For example, when you are helping in a work situation, this will be more formal than when you are working with me at home.

■ You must be flexible
Everything about this job is varied, and it is essential that you learn the job well. You need to have a flexible approach to hours worked and the times that I may need you. Sometimes you will need to start work earlier or later, and also work more or fewer hours as the need arises. You will sometimes have to travel to assist me outside of home, at meetings or other workplaces. It is essential for you to cover colleagues holiday and sickness absences.

■ You must be able to accept responsibility but ask if instructions are not clear
I need to have things done in a certain way. As an example, I have to have things put where I can reach them, or returned from where they came. Ask if you are not sure. My hours of support are limited and precious, and so we cannot afford to waste time having to do things over again.

■ You must be clean and have no unhygienic habits
As some of my support is of a personal nature, and you will be preparing food, hy-giene is important.


■ You must have a Good sense of Humour
I like to have a good working relationship with my PAs and enjoy being with people who have a good sense of humour. Our house is a happy, cheerful place to work and I am a very even tempered person who enjoys life. I have a good sense of humour, and I like working with people of a similar nature. I really don’t like laziness, sloppiness, bad humour, bad time-keeping and indiscretion - as these don’t make a good PA.


LEARNING THE TASKS INVOLVED:

You don’t need any previous experience as I will be able to give you instructions on everything you need to know, including the use of equipment and (most importantly) how personal assistance should be provided. It is very much a hands-on job! So long as you have a desire to do a varied and worthwhile job, that is all you need.

HOURS OF WORK:

If you come to work for me, you will be part of a team with one other PA.

The hours worked will have to be flexible to fit around my daily schedule which does vary. Therefore, as mentioned previously, you may have to come earlier or later when requested, and work more or less hours as the occasion arises.

However, generally you will work 16 hours per week, and these are usually worked on:

■ Monday = 8.00am to 12noon
■ Thursday = 8.00am to 12noon
■ Friday = 8.00am to 1.00pm
■ Sunday = 9.30am to 12.30pm

Sometimes, the Thursday/Friday shift times have to be swapped.

Occasionally, you may be asked to work between 6.00am and 8.00pm, and very exceptionally, you may be asked to work evenings/nights.

You will be required to cover colleagues holiday and sick absences.

If a work day falls on a Bank Holiday, I may require different hours from those al-ready mentioned.

THIS POSITION IS TO COVER CURRENT PA'S ANNUAL LEAVE AND SICKNESS.


RATES OF PAY and OTHER POINTS TO NOTE:

■ Daytime - £10.00 per hour gross
■ Weekend and unsociable hours - £11.00 per hour gross

There will be a probationary period of two months for both parties, and you will need to undergo a DBS (Police) check.

You will also be asked to sign a Contract of Employment confirming the terms of our agreement. This will be provided to you if you are offered the job, and it has to be returned to me before your first day.


HOLIDAY ENTITLEMENT:

You will be entitled to four weeks leave per annum, pro rata. This amounts to 64 hours in total over a full leave year, which runs from 21st March to 20th March yearly. If you start work part way through a leave year, you will have to work a successful probationary period before you will be allowed to take any leave. Holi-days booked and confirmed before you start will, wherever possible, be honoured.

I HOPE YOU ARE STILL INTERESTED …

I really hope you are still interested in applying for the job, and please don’t be put off by the length of the job description. I think it is essential for an applicant to know exactly what would be expected of them - if they are successful.

Please complete the enclosed job application form below, and return by email to:

[email protected]

Thank you for taking the time to read this information … Good luck!

CDF_RMS_Application_Form.docx