To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title *: Ms.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2: Grangetown
Town *: Cardiff
County *: Cardiff
Postcode *:
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes

Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I work freelance as a theatre designer (set and costume) and I also run my own theatre company. Doing these roles successfully means I need to be organised, driven, and have great verbal, written and visual communication skills. I often work within large teams of people, so communication and being friendly and open is essential. I occasionally work as a closed captioning operator for theatre performances, where I write a caption script, operate and am the front of house contact for any deaf or hard of hearing audience members. I have also worked with a school in Lampeter to develop and deliver creative workshops that encourage year 7s to learn Welsh, but also develop social, communication and collaborative skills. Beyond my theatre work, I have worked as a receptionist at the Welsh Government, a Visiting Service Assistant at Wales Millennium Centre and more recently I’ve been bar staff at my local pub, The Grange. All have been rewarding as they’ve involved meeting new people daily. I am IT literate and familiar with Microsoft Office, Mac programs and Photoshop (I am however a Mac user so I am a bit more familiar with Mac computers). I have a niece (4 years old) and a nephew (1.5 years old) who I adore, and I am fortunate enough to have them live close to me meaning I often babysit them.

What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: First and foremost, I am a kind, open, and caring person, and helping others comes naturally to me. I really think this is essential to being a good personal assistant, but also to allow me to enjoy the role. I am understanding, and always give people the benefit of the doubt, and have patience. My previous show involved working with 70 cast members with individual learning difficulties, and sensitivity and patience with each individual was key. I also think it’s important for the person you’re working for to have trust in you and feel safe, as they will have a degree of dependancy on you. But, at the end of the day, you have to get on with your employer, ensure that you treat each other with respect and enjoy each other’s company, as you become integral to theirs and their family’s life. I understand my role will be to support my employer and family to live a full life, and with that comes responsibility that can only be managed by being a good listener and responding to their needs.

How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I am very flexible and easy going, and able to move with changing plans. It is the very nature of my work in theatre. I really care about helping others and contribute towards peoples needs. I will listen very carefully and also I won’t be afraid to ask question if I’m unsure of anything. I understand I will be in someone’s home, and need to be sensitive to this. As mentioned in previous answers, I am organised and able to assist with admin, I get on with children, and I get on very well with people. How I contribute will be very much down to the individual, as it is dependant on their needs.

What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: Although my work over the past 9 years has been predominantly theatre, I am amidst a career change, and hope to study Occupational Therapy in Cardiff University in the next academic year. I have enjoyed my time in theatre, but have questioned who benefits from the work on many occasions. More recently I realised that I want a job that allows me to develop, recover and breath life into people who are going through a hard time. There have been a few occasions when I’ve had a glimpse of this with community projects, and it is so rewarding. For me to help an individual and their family on their day to day tasks will allow them a full life and will be rewarding for me. I have been fortunate in my life to be able to work and live where I want, travel etc, and I want to give other people who have limitations the same ability and freedom. On a practical sense, having work that will allow me to develop an understanding towards my Occupation Therapy course will be useful. While I am also working freelance currently, I need extra work that can sit alongside it, and has not got the same structure as a regular part-time job.

What are your hobbies/interests?: I have a varied list of hobbies and interests. I’m a farmer’s daughter, so the outdoors has always been important to me. I go hiking, wild swimming, camping and travelling around in my half-converted van. I more recently started scuba diving, but will only be doing this in warm waters after a traumatic experience learning to dive in an old Welsh quarry during December! I occasionally go rock climbing, and used to do pottery (something I hope to get back into one day). I love to paint, but in a DIY sense, not the portraits/watercolours sense. I enjoy going to the cinema and critiquing films (I’ll keep my thoughts to myself unless prompted!), cooking, and visiting my local to catch up with friends. I could go on!

Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes

Do you drive? *: Yes

Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes

Do you smoke? *: Yes

Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes

What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: I am fairly flexible, however there will a intermittent days when Ill be away for meetings in North/Mid Wales. Beyond this I have no other commitments and can work weekdays and nights, and occasional weekends.

Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes

If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: Id just like to highlight my vehicle situation - I have my own vehicle, but it is a Toyota Hiace Van, so may not be suitable if my own vehicle is needed at any point.

Name *:
Job Title *:
Address *:
Phone Number *:
In what capacity do you know this person (should not be a family member)? *:
Name *:
Job Title *:
Address *:
Phone Number *:
In what capacity do you know this person (should not be a family member)? *:

If there is any such information you wish to provide? *: Yes

Please provide details if necessary:

I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes

I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes

What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Cardiff

How many hours of work can you offer per week?: up to 18 hours
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Sunday AM/
Further Information: My availability is flexible, as I work freelance in my other role. However, I would like to set a routine so I can book my other appointments and meetings around the days Ill be with you. Because of the nature of my work, I will potentially be able to work on occasions outside of these set hours.