Quote ref: CDP119 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION
Female Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF
I am a friendly, sociable and outgoing adult with learning disabilities who loves interacting with other people and going to classes in Cardiff. I am sometimes unsteady on my feet and need a helping hand with mobility or personal care. I love listening to music, reading books and newspapers. I watch Harry Potter films, Star Trek and as many TV vet or animal programmes as I can find. Occasionally I can be grumpy if I get too tired.

PURPOSE OF JOB
I need someone to be with me at home, to help me while I’m watching TV or reading, to keep me engaged and interested. I need you to drive me to and from classes in Cardiff. Occasionally I need help with personal care. I also need someone to look out for me and keep me safe when I’m out and about, to make sure I eat healthily, do a little light shopping and get to places on time.

PLACE OF WORK
Cardiff area. My home is near Llandaff, my classes are within Cardiff, typically in Ely and Canton. I need someone who can take me to visit places like the museum or the seaside when classes are closed.

HOURS OF WORK
I am looking for support on two days a week, a total of 14 hours a week. Typically this is on a Monday and a Friday between 9.30am and 4.30pm but this may be negotiable.

Ideally you would be prepared to be a little flexible; just occasionally I might need collecting at 9.00am or have an activity that finishes a little later than 4.30pm. Let me know if this would be possible or would present difficulties for you. Would you be willing to provide holiday cover for my other assistants every now and then?

Occasional overnight respite visits might be a possibility if that worked for all of us.

RATE OF PAY
£9.70 per hour. I can cover travel costs within Cardiff.

TASKS INVOLVED
I would want you to:
• Keep me engaged in activities inside and outside the home.
• Take me to classes, take me shopping, have lunch, be active.
• Help me make safe and healthy choices.
• Keep me safe.
• Help me rest when I’m tired.
• Talk with me, read with me, have fun!

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED
I hope you will be:
• A kind, friendly and caring woman.
• Ideally, fully Covid-19 vaccinated
• Reliable, full of common-sense, punctual.
• Able to respect my privacy and confidentiality.
• Have a full driving licence and ideally able to use your car for work.
• Be flexible and adaptable to meet my needs.

ABOUT THE JOB
Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probation period will be necessary in the first instance. Wages will be paid 4 weekly. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

Thank you.