Quote ref: CDP1820 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION  

               Personal Assistant 

 

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF 

 

I am a single/divorced man in his early 70s and a survivor of a deadly viral disease, now cured for 20 years, but affected by chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia with other physical issues like mobility. I grew up in the 1960s/70sI was an athlete representing GB and the army, also a retired marketing director and businessman, widely travelled from India to Alaska having lived in many countries in between, to currently living in Llanishen, (my home originally). I have wide ranging interests from classic car events, sailing, music, playing backgammon, movies and the environment. Looking forward to future extended holidays in warmer climates with an assistant that has the independence to do so! However, in the short term maintaining a good diet (home cooking), keeping me motivated and active, and keeping myself and my home maintained to a good standard is important to me I do smoke, but only in the kitchen with the windows open so I don’t mind a smoker who will follow my house rules. 

 

PURPOSE OF JOB 

 

Allow me to stay independent in my home, and to get me out into the community. Motivate me to be as active as possible, as one of the effects of my illness is for me to do nothing due to fatigue, effort and lack of energy. I will require assistance with showering and after, with medicinal creaming of my entire body, literally head to toe, due to very dry skin (eczemalpsoriasis). Help in preparing of homemade meals, not microwave, at least one per visit or an outing to a restaurant/pub. At least a weekly outing to go shopping, or some other activity in the community. 

 

HOURS OF WORK 

 

Attend my home ideally in blocks of 3 to 3.5 hours during the week, usually from 2pm to 5.30pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and a Friday. To start, in total 12.5 hours per week, and for the right person after the initial probationary period, a possible increase to 15 to 20 hours per week. 

RATES OF PAY 

 

£9.65 per hour. 

 

TASKS INVOLVED 

 

  • Personal care and hygiene. 
  • Dressing, and laying out clean clothing. 
  • Meals and preparation.  
  • Medication/collection of prescriptions. 
  • Social outings, community activities.  
  • Shopping. 
  • Hospital appointments.  
  • Household duties. 
  • Any other reasonable task associated with this kind of employment. 

 

 

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED 

 

  • Mature individual,  
  • Reliable/Punctual. 
  • Considerate Caring and trustworthy. 
  • Friendly/Chatty. 
  • Confident/Proactive. 
  • Car driver/Access to a car to transport employer. 
  • Clean driving license. 
  • Willing to work in the home of employer who smokes. 

 

 

ABOUT THE JOB 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A probation period will be necessary in the first instance.  Wages will be paid 4 weekly.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.  

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.