Quote ref: CDP2290 on application form Apply now

Closing date: 25/04/2024

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

Hiya! I’m Bethan, I’m on the lookout for a chatty and kind PA who can give me some support as I navigate the world as a visually impaired person. As I have no sight at all, this person will need to be someone that I can trust fully and makes me feel comfortable. Experience caring for or working with the visually impaired would be ideal.

 

I’m 30 years old and reside with my lovely mum in the Pontprennau area of Cardiff- someone with a driving license is essential, as the area is quite far from town (I’m not a huge fan of buses).

 

I’m very chill at home and do enjoy my self care- spas, aromatherapy, skincare, relaxing music. I’m trained as a massage therapist (11 years) with qualifications in Complementary Therapies and even have my own massage set-up at home, with massage bed, oils, you name it.

Besides this, I also have a wild side and love to have a boogie and a drink (or two, or three) down the pub. I’d love to explore more nightlife!

PURPOSE OF JOB

 

As part of the job, you will need to pick me up from my house for activities (discussed beforehand via phone call) and drop me back home afterwards.

We will arrange at the start of each week that week’s plans. 

 

I’m looking for a PA that can work flexibly three days a week, alternating afternoons and evenings, taking me to and joining in with activities I enjoy.

These include fun things like indoor swimming, going for a walk in town to help me gain confidence in my mobility, getting a coffee, discovering food and drinks in new bars and restaurants, or just daily errands like a workout at my local gym, shopping and taking me to Asda to get groceries and then assisting me in learning how to cook meals. I like to have a routine that I can stick to, but am open to trying new things every once in a while! Someone that doesn’t push me too hard but helps me gain more confidence being out and about would be ideal.  I’d like to become more independent and spend more time with my own peers.

 

It’s important we have a rapport that is fun and open, someone I can talk to, not just someone doing a job :)

 

PERSON SPECIFICATION

 

What I need from you:

·        Being completely visually impaired is difficult in navigating the modern world. I’m eager to get out and be able to have more freedom to explore and take part in activities that fulfil me, things that are hard for me to do on my own.

·        Female- as I need assistance with public toilets when out.

·        You’re kind, compassionate and have lots of empathy.

·        You have lots of patience: someone that understands me and my anxiety which can crop up, especially in new situations. Loud, public spaces can be overwhelming for me

·        Punctual

·        Responsible

·        Good sense of humour

·        Loves to chat and tells me what’s going on wherever we are

·        Flexible- this isn’t a 9-5 role, and each week will vary in the set times and days depending on the activity.

·        Okay to drive our adapted vehicle, but preferably have own car

·        Outgoing and sociable, comfortable with taking the lead but also who can encourage me to be more outgoing.

·        Good spatial awareness! Someone that doesn’t drag me around or let me bump into things please!

 

HOURS OF WORK

Ten hours a week, spread out between Monday, Wednesday and Thursday

(for example, one week could look like: 4 hours on a Monday, 3 hours on a Weds and 2 hours on a Thursday, but I expect this to change each week depending on the activity!)

RATES OF PAY

 

£12.75 an hour.

 

TASKS INVOLVED

·        Mainly social outings and activities.

·        Gym, swimming.

·        Discos, pubs, bars.

·        Shopping, assisting with meals when eating out, teaching how to cook basic meals.

·        Helping me walk around when we are out.

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid four weekly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK