Quote ref: CDP460 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION
Part-time Personal Assistant


A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF
97-year-old lady living in a bungalow in Rhiwbina, Cardiff is looking for a personal assistant to support her with day to day tasks. Although her daughter and granddaughter are also currently in the house, health issues mean they are unable to care for her.

She has good physical and mental health however, due to macular degeneration, she is registered blind but does have some peripheral vision. She needs hearing aids but can easily hold a conversation and enjoys a chat.

Due to the ill health and retirement of two of her existing carers, she has vacancies in her well-established and happy routine and is looking to employ two PAs.


HOURS OF WORK
11 hours p/w total
30 mins- breakfast
1.5 hours- lunch
1 hour- tea
Additional 1 hour domestic call, to be arranged before or after an existing call

Tues & Sat - Breakfast and Lunch
Every day except Sat - Tea

A review is due in the next week or two, when extra hours may become available, possibly to include a bedtime call.


RATES OF PAY

£9.80 per hour


TASKS INVOLVED

Because of limited vision, she is not confident in doing everyday tasks on her own and needs support with all aspects of daily life.

She uses a Zimmer frame to move around indoors and she can stand up, sit down, and get in and out of bed by herself provided someone is there to direct her and give her confidence.

She has a commode in the bedroom, which she uses at night (empty at breakfast call), otherwise she uses the bathroom with supervision.

She has breakfast in bed, then gets up at lunchtime & has a full wash (she can do most of the wash on her own provided everything ready for her).

Her carers cook and supervise her lunch and tea, which she has on a tray in the sitting room.

There is a dishwasher to empty daily and assistance with the laundry will be required occasionally.

The new carers should be prepared to assist with her weekly shower and an occasional outing if necessary. Therefore, a clean driving license and access to a car to transport her are desirable.

One hour’s domestic work is included.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED
Reliability and punctuality are essential as she relies entirely on her carers for her everyday needs.

Her new carers should be prepared to contribute to the existing happy and caring atmosphere.

The new carers must be trustworthy and confident and some previous caring experience is desirable.

She is very fond of several pets, well-behaved cats and dogs, which are looked after by her daughter.

It is a strictly non-smoking home.


ABOUT THE JOB
Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid four weekly and appropriate holiday pay given.
The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).
The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK