Quote Ref: DP1415 on the application form  Apply Now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Part-time Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 33 year old living independently in the Aberdare area; I have ASD and some Mental Health difficulties. I can communicate well but sometimes I don’t read social cues and I sometimes may offend even though it is not my intention.  I can repeat myself and sometimes I will need a lot of reassurance and guidance when you explain things to me.   I am a very happy person and always eager to be out and about; meeting people and keeping busy.

A family member is a great support to me as I have only recently moved out and living independently.  I am looking to make my life less isolating.  I require a reliable, consistent and committed person to support me to enjoy social activities and to keep me safe while I am out and about.

I would like to socialise more and be out meeting people, I will need support and encouragement to do this.  I enjoy many activities such as eating out, and swimming, I also like listening to music, I like to go to local cafes and shopping, the theatre, the beach, days out, cinema and I enjoy sugar craft and arts and crafts. I am looking for someone who has some experience of Autism and complex behaviours.  It will be essential that the worker has a clean driving license and access to a car as they will be expected to drive.  I would like you to be nice and take the time to understand me, and my mild form of autism.  I would like you to give me support in building up social relationships/befriending with my peers and other people.

There could be a possibility of a few evenings work approximately three times a year when I may want to attend a show or theatre in Cardiff/Swansea.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

The purpose of the job is to support me to enjoy social activities out in the community while ensuring my safety at all times, I am looking for an experienced Personal Assistant.

HOURS OF WORK

6 hours every 3 weeks to be discussed at interview

RATE OF PAY

£9.00 plus mileage

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Taking me to interesting places of my choice
  • Supporting me to go out into the community
  • Discovering new activities for me to do
  • Using your own car to take me places

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Experience of working with people on the autistic spectrum would be an advantage but appropriate training will be available.
  • Someone who will be sensitive to my needs
  • Someone who is reliable and flexible
  • A driver with access to own vehicle will also be essential
  • Someone who can use their own initiative
  • Positive approach to this type of work
  • Mature attitude , bubbly and chatty person
  • Non-smoker

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid four weekly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay