Quote ref DP1538 on application form Apply Now


Personal Assistant


I am twenty-one and live in the Pontyclun area. I am looking for a personal assistant who can accompany me on activities outside the home to help me socialise. I am a high functioning Autistic person and can be a bit quiet and shy. I find being with lots of people a bit overwhelming and find it difficult to make friends.

I enjoy going to Cardiff on my electric scooter and the freedom it gives me. I like going to the cinema, bowling, walking and being outside. I have done lots of outdoor activities with the Princess Trust and would like someone who is also sporty and active to assist me on days out.


I would like someone who is a similar age to me and is interested in keeping fit and active but who also likes gaming. I need to feel more confident when I go out and not always feel on my own and isolated. It would help me if someone could initiate conversations and help me to meet new people and maybe make a few friends. It would be helpful if I could start going to some new groups in Cardiff. I access One Stop once a week and have in the past gone to a comic book group and an animee group which I really enjoyed.


As I would like to go out twice a week I would either need to be picked up from my home, go out on the train or be met in town depending on the activity agreed. I am ideally looking for one person.


Wed 1.00 pm till 4.00 pm / and or Thurs 11.00 am till 2.00 pm / and or Friday 1.00 pm till 4.00 pm

This will be an 8 hour contract


£9.00 per hour and 0.40p per mile (20miles per week).


  • Picking up from the house or meeting at the train station to accompany into Cardiff.
  • Helping in social settings to communicate needs and feel more comfortable talking to people.
  • Carry out activities ie, going to the gym, walking ,rock climbing, playing squash etc.
  • Being sensitive to social barriers and making me feel comfortable.


  • I would prefer someone similar in age who also likes to be active.
  • Likes comic books and animee as well as DC and Marvel films.
  • Friendly and easy to talk too but not noisy and over chatty.
  • Reliable and punctual, I don’t like to be kept waiting.
  • Trustworthy and considerate to my Autism.
  • Car owner with a clean driving license is not essential as long as you are happy to meet me in Cardiff.
  • A non-smoker.
  • Proactive as I can find it difficult making decisions


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you.