Quote ref DP1538 on Application Form Apply Now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 28 year old young lady living in Brynna with my mum and younger sister.  I have a severe learning disability and Atypical Rett Syndrome which means I can lose skills if I don’t continually practice them.  I have complex epilepsy, which my mum monitors; the seizures are mostly in my eyes when I blink.  Mum will always ensure that I’m well enough to go out. I also have Autistic Spectrum Disorder, dyspraxia, and Hypotonia (floppy muscles).  I respond better to certainty and a consistent approach.

I like watching films and love cartoon characters. I enjoy going to the cinema and seeing shows and pantomimes. I also like taking photographs and showing them to others.  I love gaming on the PC and Playstation.  I love music and dancing, art and crafts.  I enjoy visiting garden centres and browsing around the shops. I love to walk at the seaside and play the arcade games.  I am a huge Harry Potter fan.

PURPOSE OF JOB

To allow me to access activities and services outside of the family home in a safe manner and build socialisation skills within the community.  This time out, will also allow my mum some respite from being my full-time carer.

To work towards physical well-being and good health.  I have balance, co-ordination and sensory issues. I need to work on gross motor skills and fine motor skills regularly to avoid losing skills that I have gained.

PLACE OF WORK

Mostly out and about in the community.

Occasionally at my home.

HOURS OF WORK

18 hours per week

Weekday (daytime hours), split over 5 days

RATE OF PAY

£9.50 per hour

Mileage reimbursed at 40p per mile

TASKS INVOLVED

  • Liaising with my mum to identify and meet my needs.
  • Taking the time to get to know what makes me tick.
  • Taking me to identified leisure activities.
  • Supporting me to pay for things.
  • Providing guidance with regards to health and safety.
  • Supporting and providing guidance with personal care.
  • Encouraging me to do what I need to do, in order to maintain physical well-being and dignity.

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone friendly, patient and understanding, with compassion for individuals who have difficulty in making themselves understood.
  • Someone dependable, who arrives on time.
  • Someone who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.
  • A person who is open to sharing ideas and concerns with my mum and keeping channels of communication open at all times.
  • A driver with access to their own vehicle and business class insurance.
  • A person who is able to work on their own initiative and to identify/foresee hazards and issues that may affect my well-being.
  • The job requires the successful applicant to be flexible with their working hours on times. (This will always be mutually agreed)

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you.