Quote REF:DP1596 on Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A little about myself

I am a gentleman in my mid-60s recently retired living independently in Aberdare. After suffering a stroke, although I remain physically active, my memory and my ability to structure my activities has been severely impaired.

Anxiety brought upon by this and the isolation forced on me by retirement and the loss of my old routine makes day-to-day life difficult for me. 

I try to keep fit with activities like Walking Football and Pickle Ball but recognise that I need to find the confidence to try new things.

The Purpose of the Job

To support me to organise my day/week in order to minimise the anxiety caused by the confusion I experience.

Place of Work

At my home and out in the community occasionally.

Hours of Work

2.5 hours per week

Rate of Pay

£9.70 per hour

Tasks Involved

Perhaps prompting me to wake up by calling ahead get dressed and have breakfast.

  • Supporting me to orient myself in the morning.
  • Helping me to plan my day, organise my day and provide reassurance.
  • Help with meal planning.
  • Encouraging me to take on new activities.

Type of Person Required

  • Someone patient who understands how my condition can affect my memory loss.
  • Someone who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else's home.
  • Someone with a positive outlook who will encourage and reassure.
  • A person who can work flexibly, would be an advantage, as days and times of work may change occasionally depending on the week ahead.
  • Someone who would be confident in adapting their approach, as my condition deteriorates.

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you.