Quote REF:DP1608 on the Application form Apply now

Part-Time Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I’m a gentleman in my eighties living at home in Treherbert.

Two years ago I suffered a dense stroke which has resulted in right sided weakness and word finding difficulties.  I’m also unable to maintain my balance and cannot walk. I use a manual wheelchair to get about.

I can become quite anxious and frustrated because I now have difficulty in getting my words out as quickly as I would like and my memory isn’t as good as it was.

I’m a very articulate gentleman who loves to chat to others and I have a great sense of humour. For many years I worked as Father Christmas at Selfridges in London!

I really enjoy reading and I have a large collection of books. I also write my own poetry and short stories.

I also enjoy listening to music, particularly on vinyl. Some of my favourites are Frank Sinatra and Acker Bilk.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I am looking to employ a personal assistant to help and support me to go out locally into the community, something I’ve been unable to do since losing my mobility.

This will involve meeting me at my home and going out locally to the library or to the park for a walk.

I’d like to go around second hand and charity shops to look for bargains too!

Hopefully this will lead to taking the train, taxi or bus further afield for a change of scenery.

I’d be ready to go when you arrived as I have other carers who help me get ready at home.

HOURS OF WORK

There are 4 hours per week available.

Saturday or Sunday 1pm to 5pm would be best, but I am flexible with these hours.

RATE OF PAY 

£9.00 per hour

Plus Mileage Allowance (when applicable)

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Supporting me to get out and about
  • Collecting me and helping me get out of the house and back in
  • Helping me to use public transport or a taxi
  • Pushing my manual wheelchair
  • Supporting me with using my laptop to access the internet
  • Supporting me with shopping and paying for things whilst out and about
  • Making sure I am safe at all times when out and about
  • Providing me with support and companionship when out and about

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Driver with access to own vehicle
  • Someone with a good knowledge of the local area
  • Someone physically fit enough to push me in a manual wheelchair
  • Someone who is friendly and happy to have a chat
  • Would suit a male or female applicant
  • Someone punctual and reliable
  • Someone respectful of people’s homes

ABOUT THE JOB

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.