Please quote job ref DP1696 on application form. Apply now

Personal Assistant

SOMETHING ABOUT ME                         

I am a 100-year-old lady living in Hawthorn. I am friendly and love to chat but I am wary of new people until I get to know them. I have 2 sons who live two hours away from me but who do try and visit as much as they can. I would like to be able to shop (in a wheelchair) and have coffee and lunch out sometimes. I would also enjoy having a little drive around to places that I remember. I have lived in Pontyclun, Castell Y Mnwns, Whitchurch and Hawthorn. My late husband was Billy Coles, the local coal merchant, who delivered coal all around the Rhonda Cynon Taff area.

PLACE OF WORK

In my home and in the community.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I need someone to cook a proper meal for me at lunch time and to help with all domestic and household chores. Also, to remind me to take my medication. I have felt very lonely and isolated during this last year and would like someone to chat to and to go on outings with.

HOURS OF WORK

I have 11 hours which would be used between 12.30pm – 2pm every day. I also have 3 carers a day at 9.15am, 5pm and 9pm. If extra hours were needed, I would fund these myself. This job could be a job share as it covers 7 days a week. Please specify how many days/hours you could do when you apply.

RATE OF PAY

£ 10.10 per hour plus mileage for journeys we make together.

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Cooking a meal and drinks for lunch
  • Companionship and company
  • Making sure that I take my medication in the middle of the day
  • Cleaning and hoovering
  • Washing dishes, doing the laundry and changing bed linen etc
  • Shopping – preferably with me to include a meal and/or coffee, although at the moment the virus and my unsteadiness prevents this
  • Helping me to sometimes get up as I am unsteady on my feet

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Must be friendly and very patient and caring
  • Car driver essential
  • Mature outlook
  • Responsible
  • Thoroughly trustworthy, reliable and with plenty of common sense

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly and appropriate holiday pay given.

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check - which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK.