Quote Ref DP186 on application form Apply Now

JOB DESCRIPTION

CASUAL PERSONAL ASSISTANT

Personal Information:

I am a cheerful lady living in the Beddau area with my cat Coco.  I am recovering from the effects of a Stroke which has left me with a weakness on my left side and memory problems.

I still need assistance with various tasks and functions in and out of my home.

I am an outgoing person who is interested in people, music (especially Tom Jones), Brass Bands and Swimming. I also spend a lot of my time fund raising for various charities.

Purpose of Job:

I am looking for a casual PA to cover my regular PA’s holiday and sickness who will be able to support me at home and whilst out in the community to help maintain my independence.

Tasks:

  • To help me to dress after my shower and dry my hair
  • Prompting me to be up and out on time or for any appointments
  • Domestic tasks which might include light vacuuming, tidying up, changing my bedclothes weekly, mopping the kitchen floor, ironing and assisting me with the washing machine
  • Preparing a light breakfast e.g. cereals and tea
  • Preparing food for an evening meal
  • To ensure that I am safe at all times whilst you are on duty
  • Supporting me to go swimming
  • Supporting me to go shopping
  • Occasionally taking me to appointments
  • Completing a work diary at the end of each shift

Place of Work:

In my home and occasionally out in the community.

Hours of Work:

There are up to17 hours a week which may need to be covered on a casual basis

My Weekly rota is -

Monday               8.00am -   9.30am

Tuesday              8.30am -    2.00pm

Wednesday        8.00am-     9.30am

Thursday             8.30am-     9.30am

Friday                  8.00am-     9.30am

Saturday             9.30am-     11.00am

The rest of the hours are used flexibly i.e if and when I have an appointment with prior arrangement I will need you to take me.

Rate of Pay Per Hour:

Weekdays             £8.21

Saturday               £9.30

Person required:

  • Preferably a female person
  • Preferably car owner/driver
  • Punctual, dependable and totally trustworthy
  • Flexible
  • Preferably a non smoker although this is not essential
  • Cheerful with a positive and friendly outlook
  • Caring and compassionate when dealing with my health issues
  • Someone willing to accompany me swimming
  • Someone with experience of working with someone with a brain injury or someone who has had a stroke desirable

About the job:

This position is a proper job for which 5.6 weeks holiday pay will allowed (pro rata).

A National Insurance Number must be supplied.

Your hours of work will be recorded on a timesheet and payment will be made by cheque each fortnight.

A trial period will be necessary.

You will be required to complete an enhanced police check, which will be at no cost to yourself.