Please quote job reference DP921 on the application. apply now


Personal Assistant (TEMP POST)


I am a retired lady living in Rhydyfelin with my husband. I am visually impaired and I also have arthritis. I enjoy walking and attending weekly social groups which arrange outings to shows and meals out when possible. I also enjoy swimming and shopping. I much prefer being out and about than being indoors.

I enjoy listening to audio books and talking about books. I used to be interested in arts and crafts but have not done much of it lately. I also enjoy quizzes. I have a set of braille dominoes which I like.


Temp position only to cover my PA who’s currently completing a uni course. At the moment I do not know when she will return, however, you will be given one month’s notice of her return.

You will support me with my social and living needs within my home but mostly out in the community. You will support me to maintain my independence and participate in activities I enjoy. You must be willing to use your car for outings – mileage will be paid.

It is important that you’d be comfortable working with someone who has a visual impairment. This means you will be comfortable to describe things to me when I ask you to and tell me when we are approaching stairs and doors etc.


8 hours per week

This role will include evening and weekend work on occasion.


£10.00 per hour

Mileage paid at 40p per mile when I am in the car with you.

Any admission fees will also be paid (i.e. swimming pool)



  • Support with weekly shopping, using your car
  • Packing away the shopping in the right place
  • Support with writing a shopping list, if necessary
  • Taking me out to places that I would like to visit such as the leisure centre (swimming)
  • You will be required to attend shows and dinners with me which are arranged by the social group I attend
  • You will also drive me to these groups on a weekly basis
  • If the weather is not good I would like you to support me around the house with dusting and other basic domestic duties




  • Giving support with changing at the leisure centre if we go swimming
  • An understanding of visual impairment is desirable as you’ll have to be my eyes when we’re out.
  • Someone who would be comfortable to describe surroundings to me when I ask you to
  • Someone who likes dogs
  • Someone who is reliable and punctual
  • Someone who is enthusiastic and motivating
  • A person with a friendly, easy-going manner
  • Someone who understands confidentiality and respects working in another person’s home
  • A car driver/owner with a clean license and business class insurance
  • A willingness to learn and take instruction from your employer
  • Someone who has a positive approach to this type of work
  • Someone who is confident and able to work on their own initiative




This is a part-time job only. A National Insurance number must be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to do a DBS check (police check) which will be at no expense to yourself.


Thank you.