Quote DPC1025 on Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Casual Personal Assistant

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

 

I am a 9 year old girl who lives in Llantwit Fadre with my parents and sister. I have Rett Syndrome which is a regressive condition that affects development of the brain. I am non-verbal and get around the house on my knees. I am easy going and laid back. I am happy and giggly and my mum says I can be cheeky too. I am also stubborn and determined and I let people know what I want, even though I cannot vocalise this. Once you get to know me then you will understand what I want and how I show this.

 

I love being sung to, being read stories, sensory toys and being outside in the garden. I like crafts and painting and really enjoy getting messy. I do tend to eat things I shouldn’t, so whoever is watching me needs to be aware of this. I like swimming and water and love having a bath. I like to watch Cbeebies and especially enjoy Nina and the Neurons.

 

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

 

The purpose of the job is to provide casual cover to support me at home when I get in from school and to look after my sister and I one evening a week when my parents are out. I want Personal Assistants who treat this as more than a job, someone who appreciates me and wants to spend time with me. I do use a hoist that needs 2 people to use it, but using this is not essential in all parts of my house. If this is not used, then 1 PA could work alone.

 

HOURS OF WORK

 

In total there are a minimum of 7 hours per week to be used by my regular PA. I have another PA who will occasionally need to be covered so there is potential for more hours. My hours are:

 

2 days- 3-5.30pm

1 day- 3-5pm

1 evening-7-10pm

 

My current PA is going on maternity leave next year so my hours may become more regular from March time.

 

RATE OF PAY

 

£9.50 per hour

 

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

 

  • Meeting me from school
  • Make me a snack and a drink
  • Take my shoes off and make me comfortable
  • To do activities with me: cooking or painting for example
  • Giving me a bath
  • Taking me to collect my sister from the childminder
  • Providing a sitting service for my parents when they go out one night a week

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

 

  • Someone patient and understanding
  • Someone proactive who will use their own initiative to find new things for me to do
  • Someone who will be committed to the job and who takes a genuine interest in me
  • Someone reliable and punctual
  • Someone flexible who will be able to cover holidays and sickness
  • Someone with experience of working with children with additional needs
  • Someone who has had manual handling experience/training
  • Someone who has had epilepsy training is preferable, if not, training will be provided

 

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

 

The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check. The cost of this will be met by the employer.