Quote ref DPC805 on application form Apply Now


Personal Assistant


I am a happy, sociable 13 year old boy living with my parents and older sister in the Graigwen area in Pontypridd. I have Downs Syndrome and experience some difficulties with my mobility and speech; I also need some assistance with my personal care.

I attend Ty Coch School in Tonteg which I really enjoy as I like being with my friends.

I am usually placid and easy going but I can become impatient and stubborn at times.

Although I have speech I need encouragement and prompting to communicate so it is important for people to make conversations with me.  

I enjoy being out and about either in a car or on public transport but I do tire very easily and cannot walk very far so I use a wheelchair.

My favourite places to go are to play areas for example Jungle Jims or to local parks such as Pontypridd, Aberdare and Merthyr, I would also like to go to St Fagans, Porthcawl and especially Barry as I love Gavin and Stacey.

I have 3 dogs and I like to go swimming but this is something I do with my family.


My parents are looking to employ a second personal assistant to provide me with the support I need to participate in activities in the community. My other personal assistant provides a sitting service at home and you will be required to cover this time when she takes annual leave. This support helps me with my independence and also allows my parents some respite.


£9.30 per hour

35p per mile


There are 7.5 hours a week available and are to be worked mainly over 2 shifts – one after school on a late afternoon/early evening and one on a Saturday.  

There is also an additional 4 hours a week available during the school holidays but these can be used in agreement between us.

Flexibility is important.


  • Taking me out to do the activities I enjoy, walking in the park, trips to the seaside etc.
  • Participating in some of the activities with me such as bowling, swimming etc.
  • Pushing me in my wheelchair when required.
  • Making sure I am safe at all times, always supervising me while I am participating in my activities
  • Changing me when out and about as I do have occasional accidents.
  • Encouraging conversations to help me with speech and communication.
  • Taking me out in your own car for which mileage will be paid.
  • Taking me on public transport.
  • Encouraging me to try new things or go to new places.
  • Occasionally sitting with me at home, watching television, playing games etc.


  • A friendly, outgoing, lively person, with a sense of humour.
  • A non smoker.
  • Someone who is patient and understands how my disability affects me.
  • A person who is confident to help me calm down if I become impatient.
  • A person who can be proactive in finding new activities and encouraging me to participate as well as participating themselves.
  • A person who is reliable and punctual
  • Someone who can be flexible and change their hours of work occasionally to meet my needs and cover for other personal assistants for absences.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone’s home.
  • A car driver/owner who is willing to use their own car which will require business class insurance.
  • Attending any relevant training course for the position.


Although this is a part-time job, it will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The salary will be paid on a calendar monthly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

Attending a Safeguarding Children Training course is compulsory for this post. This post is subject to an enhanced police check (DBS) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence.

Business class insurance on your car is also required for this post.