Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title (required):
First Name (required):
Last Name (required):
Address 1 (required):
Address 2:
Town (required): llantwit major
County (required): Vale of Glamorgan
Postcode (required):
Phone number (required):
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. (required):
Reference number of job being applied for (required): .
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I have always worked in a manufacturing environment in various companies in various positions. However, I undertook a BA in teaching and have undertaken a number of teaching roles in recent years. Also for the last 30 years i have helped in the local scout association (Last 25 years as a leader in various positions - currently group scout leader at 1st Llantwit Major scouts). I have also taken part time employment at Brynteg (Bridgend) and Llantwit Major youth groups. I am also actively involved in the Duke of Edinburgh award ( Bronze/Silver assessor).
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): I am very trustworthy, Helpful and have a Can do attitude. In scouting i always encourage the young people to try new activities and learn new skills, I try to encourage them to be independent and do things for themselves, However i am always there to help if required.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I have helped young people through scouting with both physical and mental issues and with each individual i will first have to understand their needs and what they want me to help them with and where i can help them achieve. I would like to believe i will be able to help them achieve their own personal goals and give them confidence to achieve more and also challenge their own perceived boundaries.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I like to have new challenges and i am sure the people i am asked to help will give me challenges of their own that we can approach together. I like to help every individual to reach their own potential, Whatever that maybe! Working one to one enables both of us to identify a goal we can work towards in a partnership that will develop both of us to gain new skills. I am very much a people person and can gain the trust, friendship, confidence and much more from those i can help.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I am a scout leader so like walking and most outdoor activities. I have also played most sports (Football, tennis, badminton, golf, archery etc.) As a scout leader i have archery and bell boating qualifications. I like to try something new and different every year so have tried various skills (juggling, Bungee jump, parachuting, fire breathing, uni-cycling, abseiling, etc.). I enjoy basic cooking and DIY.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): Available any days and potentially evenings / Nights by arrangement.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: Only potential car breakdowns. All other issues could be discussed in advance.
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Vale of Glamorgan
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: up to 35 hours.
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.:
Further Information: I have since, the first Covid lockdown at the end of March 2020 been looking after an elderly neighbor who has no local relatives. unfortunately she fell and broke her right leg in june and i was first to get to her and call the emergency services. Since then my wife and i take her Sunday lunches and i take her for walks ( when the weather permits) in a wheelchair. I am carrying out any DIY on her home and taking her for her various medical check ups and injections.