Quote ref VOG284 on Application Form Apply Now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Casual Personal Assistant

Looking For Kind Casual Carer For Lovely Elderly Lady

We live in St Donats near Llantwit Major and need help with my mother's care whenever her normal carers take holiday. We are looking for a flexible, reliable, experienced carer to help us out. Duties include wake up, mobilising, dressing, simple breakfast+ lunch prep, bathroom care + occasional outdoor trips in your car. My mum is a cheerful lady and fun to be with. She is not independently mobile and needs help. She uses a Zimmer frame and a wheelchair. From 27 Aug-17 Sept 2019 there will be up to 122 hours available. Throughout the year there will be up to 274 holiday hours to cover with dates fixed well in advance. Additionally, we hope to find someone local who could be occasionally contacted at short notice to check availability to help in emergency situations that sometimes arise when both regular carers are unavailable at the same time.

 A LITTLE ABOUT MY MUM

She is in her 90th year, though doesn’t look it! She has some medical issues which mean she needs someone to support her with her care needs, personal care such as bathing and using the toilet as well as help to get around. She has poor mobility and her spine is unable to straighten.  She uses a Zimmer frame and wheelchair.  My mum is a very chatty and sociable lady. She still plays the piano, and loves classical music. She enjoys going (being taken to) Llantwit Pensioners club on Tuesday evenings. She is a positive person who likes to look on the bright side. She enjoys chatting, sharing stories and generally spending time with people. When she’s in the house she enjoys watching TV and is currently enjoying the tennis season. She even enjoys watching cricket and snooker!

HOURS OF WORK

As this is a casual post, the hours are not regular but to cover when the other 2 carers take their holidays. This could be a minimum of 24 hours a week (daytime only), 34 hours a week if you are happy to cover the 1-2 hour daily bedtime routine, and up to 49 hours a week if both of the 2 regular carers are off at the same time. This can happen and will happen for a week from 31 Aug 2019. Depending on which carer you are covering, you would typically be working 3-4 hours each morning (not before 9am), some additional hours during the day, possibly 1-2 hour bedtime routine, and/or a total of 8 hours on Saturday and Sunday afternoons which will be split into two visits each day. The latter weekend hours are usually to take my mum out locally in your car (fuel reimbursed). If your cover includes a Tuesday you would often be driving her to attend the local Pensioners Club between 6:30 – 8:30pm.

 RATE OF PAY

 £9.50 per hour

 TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Supporting me with daily living tasks
  • Assisting me with personal care
  • Helping me to wash, dress and use the toilet
  • Helping me with meal preparation
  • Taking me out sometimes (usually on weekends), to concerts occasionally
  • Driving me in your car

 TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone motivated, friendly and caring
  • Someone who has similar interests
  • Someone who will enjoy the time we spend together
  • Someone who has plenty to chat about
  • Someone who has access to a car they can use for work
  • Someone with a good sense of humour
  • Someone flexible and reliable

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid every four weeks on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

The post is subject to a satisfactory references and a DBS (Police) Check. The cost of this will be met by the employer.