Please quote ref number VOG320 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant – JOB SHARE

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

A 90 year old lady with Alzheimer’s who easily gets confused and repeats herself is looking for support in the home. She asks the same things over and over and gets even more confused when stressed.  She gets very frustrated and cross with herself as she is noticing a decline in her abilities. She has had a wonderful life where she was fortunate and able to take many foreign holidays. She was married for 35+ years and nursed her husband who had cancer.  She has one daughter (who will be the legal employer in this case) and two stepchildren from her late husband’s previous marriage. Her daughter also lives locally but does have a job which takes her all over the country for work.  She loves the good things in life and going out to dinner with her family when they all get together.  Her memory is the main problem as other than the odd ache and pain she is very healthy and very young for her age.  She has problems with her teeth as they never seem to stay in properly which can impact upon what she eats sometimes. She is house proud and likes to keep everything looking lovely and will struggle to do this. 

 PLACE OF WORK

In Llantwit Major, very near the comprehensive school. On occasion you may be required to do tasks outside of the home – shopping, taking the lady out for a coffee.

 HOURS OF WORK

27 hours in total, to be shared between 3 – 4 PAs

I require 1 – 2 hour visits 3 times a day, morning, afternoon and evening

 These hours are ideally what is required however they can be adjusted to suit the right PA. You will also be required to cover annual leave and sickness 

RATE OF PAY

 £9.80 per hour.

 TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Making a meal and keeping an eye on all the things in the fridge that seem to go out of date
  • Changing the bed once a week.
  • Ironing the bed sheets
  • General cleaning which would include putting the vacuum around and dusting
  • Cleaning the bathroom and kitchen once a week.
  • Other general household things.
  • Ensure that food is eaten and diet is suitably maintained.
  • Prepare nutritious meals
  • Involve me with meal ideas
  • Maintain a high standard of hygiene and food safety in the kitchen
  • Social outings such as going for a coffee

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone who has had some life experience who has a sense of humour and is patient.
  • Obviously we want someone who is kind and caring who is able to drive
  • Sensitive to the needs of someone suffering from dementia.
  • Initiative when preparing meals
  • Essential that you make sure I’ve eaten the meal you’ve prepared

 ABOUT THE JOB

 I will be your legal employer so you will need a National Insurance number. Pay will be four weekly by cheque and appropriate paid annual leave is given. There will be trial period involved and a police check will be necessary (which I will arrange).