Quote REF: VOG473 on Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

PERSONAL ASSISTANT

A LITTLE ABOUT ME

I am an 84 year old lady with moderate memory problems.  Memory issues aside, I am healthy and mobile.  I am a widow and retired nurse and I live in Barry (West end).   I like animals, particularly cats and dogs.   I am close to my family comprising of one daughter who lives nearby and works part-time and my two granddaughters who both work full-time.  Despite memory impairment, I like to be independent, so sometimes I find it hard to accept help.  I already have the help of one Personal Assistant and also a cleaner once per week.  I do not go out alone.  My interests include socialising inside the house or out in coffee shops and growing indoor plants.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

  • To prompt and encourage me to get up out of bed and to get washed / dressed in readiness for the day.  If this is achieved my memory and mood are noticeably better. 
  • To encourage and promote socialisation by engaging in relaxed dialogue and reminiscence. 
  • To remind me to take medication.
  • To ensure that I maintain regular fluids and diet.  To encourage me to make cups of tea, breakfast, light lunch or evening meal and to assist with preparation of food and drink on days where I need more help.
  • To encourage me to maintain my independence as far as possible

HOURS OF WORK

28 hours in total shared between two (or more) Personal Assistants.  This will comprise 4 hours each day to include morning (approximately 10 am for 2hrs), afternoon (1 hour) and evening (approximately 6pm for 1 hour). However Flexibility of hours is possible and may be helpful to me at times.  Hours can be adjusted to suit right applicant. One Personal Assistant is already in post so hours remaining are Wednesday mornings, weekend mornings (every other weekend), afternoons and evenings.    There are hours set aside for a social activity.

 

RATE OF PAY

£9.35 per hour weekdays and £10.35 at weekends.

 

TASKS MIGHT INCLUDE

  • Keeping me company, sitting down and having a chat
  • Preparing a meal or snack
  • To prompt me with personal care and getting dressed
  • Occasionally to take me out in your car, for example light shopping, for a drive to view the local scenery, to a café or for appointments eg hairdresser.
  • There may be a need to provide more assistance with personal care and light domestic support around the home, for example assisting with laundry / ironing, changing and making bed.
  • Any other duties mutually agreed to assist with day to day living

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Would suit a female applicant (due to the personal care involved)
  • Someone who is kind, patient and sensitive to the needs of someone suffering from memory impairment
  • Honest, reliable and trustworthy
  • Motivated
  • Experience of working with older people and dementia would be advantageous. Someone with a health care background would be advantageous but not essential
  • Easy to talk to and get along with
  • Non-smoker (preferably)
  • Some flexibility regarding working hours would be helpful but not essential.     
  • Car owner / driver would be advantageous but not essential, may suit someone who lives locally

ABOUT THE JOB

The client’s daughter will be your legal employer so you will need a National Insurance number. Pay will be monthly and appropriate paid annual leave will be given. The post is subject to satisfactory references.  There will be a probationary period involved and a satisfactory enhanced DBS (police) check will be required.