Quote REF: VOG650 on Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a 90 year old man who lives with my wife in Dinas Powys. I have 2 grown up children who live relatively nearby. I am a retired Company Accountant who is quiet and placid. These days I am quite confused, although some days I am brighter than others. I sometimes like to read the paper and enjoy watching television, I used to enjoy watching David Attenborough programmes but now I’ll just watch whatever is on. I used to be a big Cardiff City Football Club fan but now I don’t really follow football. I also used to enjoy having a potter around the garden but my mobility has restricted this. I don’t really like to be on my own and will get a bit disorientated, even within my own home. I am double incontinent, my mobility is poor but I won’t use a stick. I was diagnosed with Dementia 3 years ago.  

 

 PURPOSE OF THE JOB

The purpose of this job is to keep me safe and well at home, ensure my dignity is maintained and to provide respite for my wife. I am looking to build a staff of Personal Assistants to support me at home. There are a few positions available and they cover nights and day shifts. The night shifts are currently sleeping nights, and allow my wife chance to have a break from her caring role.

HOURS OF WORK

PA 1: 19 hours per week (2 night shifts plus 30 minutes after each night shift for personal care)

PA 2: 9.5 hours per week (1 night shift plus 30 minutes on the morning after for personal care)

PA 3: 6 hours per week (weekend hours)

These hours are a rough guide and we can discuss further at interview.

 

 RATES OF PAY

£9 per hour for day hours

£74 per night shift

 TASKS CAN INCLUDE

 

  • Supervising me to ensure I am safe and settled
  • Some light housework to take the pressure off my wife
  • Respite care to allow my wife to run errands/sleep etc.
  • Companionship and social interaction
  • Personal care including changing pads, showering etc.
  • Maintaining my dignity
  • Assisting my wife so that I can attend appointments
  • Ensuring that not just my basic needs are met, but that I have a good quality of life also
  • Making me an occasional snack such as tea and biscuits

 

 TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

 

  • Someone who shows initiative
  • Someone who respects confidentiality
  • Someone who is flexible
  • Someone who is caring and respectful
  • Someone who will listen to my wife’s instruction
  • Car driver useful
  • Experience not essential, but caring nature necessary

 

ABOUT THE JOB

This will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period of six months will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid four-weekly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay. This post is subject to an enhanced police check (DBS) and training may be required if identified by the employer.