Please quote job reference VOG663 on application. Apply now


Part-Time Personal Assistant


I am a 11 year old boy living in the Sully area with my mum, sister, cat and 2 hamsters. I am a very sociable person who likes to interact with other children my age. I am very passionate about the things I like and enjoy. These include gaming on my laptop, Nintendo Switch and iPad (especially Minecraft and Plants Vs Zombies) and watching YouTube. I like to watch Marvel, DC, Lego and Star Wars films. I also like watching Netflix.

I am good at making people laugh and I especially enjoy using slapstick. I like listening to music and enjoy dancing. I like role playing (especially if I’m in charge) and especially like battles, drawing battle characters and playing Lego and chess. I like to organise others, especially when I can make them follow the rules. When I can go out I like swimming at Cardiff International Leisure Pool, bushcraft, scooting, the beach and role play battles. I like football and bowling (but I like the adults to take it easy on me).

I have Autism and Pathological Demand Avoidance. I am very anxious and like to feel in control.


The purpose of the job is to assist me to gain some independence away from the home. I want to expand my experiences and improve my confidence.

My Personal Assistant will also provide respite for my mother, allowing her some one to one time with my sister.


There are 6 hours per week available to be used flexibly.


£10.50 per hour

Plus Mileage Allowance (when applicable)



*I will initially need my PA to come to my house under the guise of being a helper for my mum. I will then get used to you, before you start to just support me*


  • Some light housework whilst I get familiar with you
  • Supporting me to access social activities (swimming, bowling, going to the beach)
  • Ensuring I am safe at all times
  • Providing me with companionship/being a mentor
  • Suggesting new ideas of things we can do, but giving me time to get used to these ideas
  • Sharing interests with me, talking to me about my interests
  • Building a relationship with me at home, whilst my mum is around




  • Experience in ASD/PDA
  • Experience of working with children
  • Similar interests/knowledge of my interests
  • Car owner/driver
  • Willing to listen to my mother’s guidance about my behavior
  • Flexibility
  • Respects confidentiality/privacy




The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).


The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a Four Weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.


Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.