Quote REF:VOG666 on Application Form. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Part-Time Personal Assistant 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I’m a young man in my early 20’s living at home with my family in Dinas Powys.

I have Autism which means I face challenges with regards to any change and aspects of my daily living. I can get really anxious. I’m also quite socially isolated and don’t really have any friends at also I rely completely on family support, mostly from my mother and my sister who lives nearby.

Notwithstanding this I function reasonably well and I don’t require any personal care but I do sometimes need prompting with carrying out daily living tasks.

I have a job working in a supermarket which keeps me busy and has helped me gain some confidence. At home I enjoy streaming online content in my room at home, particularly online gaming. I do this on my PC but also through my Playstation.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I am looking to employ a personal assistant to help and support me with my daily living tasks at home and to go out into the community.

I will be moving into my own flat very soon and will need support and encouragement to prepare meals, carry out domestic tasks like cleaning and laundry and to go out into the community to undertake shopping, attend appointments and fulfil social and leisure activities. Also if I can build my confidence, I’d like to attend the Cardiff Comic Con event.

HOURS OF WORK

There are up to 20 hours per week available.

This would initially involve working on a Monday and a Sunday, with other days to be mutually agreed as I build up to using the full 20 hours per week.

RATE OF PAY

£9.50 per hour

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Supporting and encouraging me with daily domestic tasks at my flat like cleaning and laundry
  • Supporting me to use public transport to build my confidence and improve my life skills
  • Supporting me with my household budget and with shopping
  • Supporting me to go to the cinema or to gaming clubs that I enjoy
  • Providing me with companionship
  • Making sure I am safe at all times when out and about

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone confident of using public transport
  • Someone with a good knowledge of the local area
  • Driver with vehicle ideal but not essential
  • Someone who shares some of my interests
  • Someone with some knowledge of gaming would be ideal!
  • Someone who can suggest things to do/try out
  • Someone who is friendly but assertive enough to prompt me with my daily living tasks
  • Someone punctual and reliable
  • Someone respectful of other people’s homes
  • Would suit a male or female applicant

ABOUT THE JOB

The post is subject to satisfactory references and a DBS Disclosure (Police Check) which will need to be carried out before employment can commence. The cost of this will be met by the employer (Local Authority).

The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK before you start work.

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid on a Four Weekly basis and appropriate holiday pay given.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer, or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employ