Quote REF VOG693 on Application Form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

 

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

 

I am a lady in my 50’s and I live with my husband in Barry. I used to train horses and had several accidents which have led to me having physical disabilities. My most recent was an accrued brain injury due to a fall from a horse. I have a sociable personality and enjoy having friends and family visit. I’ve always been an animal lover.  I have worked all my adult life (both employed and self-employed)

 

I am determined to become as mobile as possible and I wish to remain at home, I can walk, however, this is not something that I can manage without significant assistance and a walking aid or use of parallel bars and assistance to maintain the alignment of my left foot.

 

I need gentle encouragement to maintain my current level of independence with positive reinforcement techniques, reassurance and positive behaviour management techniques as sometimes I can become agitated and distressed if I am tired, overstimulated, therapeutically challenged or if there is physical contact that I was not expecting.

 

PURPOSE OF JOB

 

I am relaxed and content at home but I am keen for my husband to have time to himself and would like to employ a personal assistant to support me to go shopping and to go for coffee, enabling my husband to enjoy his hobbies. I would also benefit from having company and support at home to help me bake cakes and support with mobilising to the bathroom and accessing the facilities.

 

My PA will need to assist me wearing an ankle splint for all standing and transfers with use of the stand aid (Molift). Sometimes I do not recognise the need for the ankle splint to be worn to protect my ankle and will at times decline to wear it or state that I do not need it if I wear my supportive boots. Additionally, I may display behaviour that challenges e.g chocking, coughing, and crying in response to the need to wear my splint.

 

Sometimes, I just need some reassurance and to be prompted that the best advice is to wear the splint to protect my ankle and that I must not stand/transfer without it.

 

PLACE OF WORK

 

At my home and in the local area of Barry

 

 

HOURS OF WORK

 

There is 24 hours per week available which can be flexible, one particular day would be every Saturday 07:30-13:00 and a Monday evening, times and additional hours can be discussed at interview

RATE OF PAY

£10.00 per hour

TASKS INVOLVED

  • Changing bed and laundry
  • Socialising and going for coffee and walks using wheelchair
  • Pa will be required to provide verbal explanation every time with any tasks
  • Local trips to parks, beaches and shops
  • Other reasonable duties
  • Personal care tasks
  • Dressing/undressing
  • Food prep (sandwich, breakfast cereal, baking a cake)
  • Standing programme
  • Toileting
  • All sit/stand/sit transfers in the home environment
  • Visits out using wheelchair accessible taxi
  • Engagement in meaningful leisure activity (reminiscence- looking at photos, assisting to use Ipad, watching and discussing films)
  • PA requires to check equipment daily to ensure safety every time equipment used in accordance with manual handling policy.

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Experience in caring is essential
  • Experience with working with Brain Injury would be desirable
  • Good time keeper
  • Clean driving license
  • Happy to be around family pets (no dog walking involved)
  • Basic cookery skills including baking

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

 

Thank you.