Please quote job reference VOG749 on the application. Apply Now


Personal Assistants


I am an 80 years old gentleman and I have been together with my wife for 56 years. We live in a bungalow with a kitchen which has been adapted for my wife as she uses an electric wheelchair in the house but she cannot use the kitchen at all as it does not meet her needs and I used to care for my wife previously, but since losing function in both of my hands, this has become very difficult. I had a fall coming back from the Post Office and was admitted to hospital and diagnosed with possible spinal ossification. As a consequence of this illness my mobility became severely reduced, I have experienced some falls at home and I use a zimmer frame or two sticks which helps me get around but my balance is poor and worse at night. I also has spasms and stiffening of my toes

I worked as an electrician for 26 years. I have lead a very active life and I like to help people where I can

My wife who used to work in the NHS for many years and has had Fibromyalgia for a long time and resulting body pain, trapped nerve in the neck causing a lot of pain down her arms with constant sciatic pain in her left hip. My wife also has Bells Palsy- left facial drop and neuralgic pain; that this affects her mouth and so affects drinking and eating. She has eye drops daily and requires assistance with which I am unable to help her with.

My wife also has sleep apnoea - wears CPAP machine at night and also has fainting episodes 3-4 times a week- she requires assistance to bed and reassurance at these times. This can happen 2-3 times per week but could be a couple of weeks before episodes.  When she falls I struggle to get her back up due to my heart condition. My wife wears a body brace to keep her back straight and maintain posture.

My wife is immobile and uses her electric wheelchair. She uses 2 sticks to transfer or walk short distances when she is able; however often loses her grip and is unable to walk far.  She otherwise requires transfer onto her wheelchair.


We currently have a team of carers to support us both at home to remain as independent and safe as possible. We are looking for at least another 2 PA’s to join our team


At our home address in Barry


Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 10am -1 pm

Wednesday 3pm-6pm

If you can work any of these shifts, please apply, as we are flexible with hours


£10.00 per hour 


  • Food preparation
  • General cleaning around the home
  • Personal care
  • Administration tasks like going to the post office


  • Needs to be trustworthy and confident
  • Needs to be dedicated and reliable
  • Someone who would be comfortable and confident to transfer into wheelchair, where necessary
  • Someone who respects my privacy, confidentiality and dignity


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you.