Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title *: Miss.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2:
Town *: Barry
County *: Vale of Glamorgan
Postcode *: CF63
Phone number *:
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I have just left my job as a care assistant in a care home in Bristol. The only reason I left is that I am relocating back to Barry. I loved everything about the job especially connecting with the residents and engaging in activities they enjoy doing such as gardening, crossword puzzles, watching quiz shows, etc. I worked there for 8 months and the job ignited my passion for caring for the elderly. I hope to become a nurse in the geriatric sector. Tasks with my previous care assistant job included (but were not limited to) assisting with personal care and toiletry needs (including emptying catheters and changing/cleaning commodes) (I am certified for pressure ulcer prevention and care), assistance with moving and handling with the use of Zimmer frames and wheelchairs (I am certified in manual handling), preparing and delivering meals being mindful of a variety of dietary needs (I have a food safety level two and an allergen awareness certificate).
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: I believe the most important qualities to have when working with someone with a disability is patience and understanding. I believe it is important to listen to the individual and show complete respect, helping them to maintain their individuality and treat them as an equal at all times.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: Ask the individual what they need and want, ask them if they would like help and encourage them to be as independent in their tasks as possible, whilst remaining mindful towards their possible limitations and providing assistance and moral support.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: Working as a care assistant within a care home setting, my only regret was the limited time I was able to spend with each resident as there were so many to take care of. I love the idea of connecting with one individual and building a relationship, as that is what attracted me to care in the first place. I love the idea that I can give my full undivided attention to one individual who needs my expertise in care and support.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I love animals. I have owned all sorts ranging from rats/hamsters/gerbils, to cats/dogs, to even chickens/birds Ive rescued, and horses. I am a passionate care giver to both animals and people. I have a pet psychology diploma and have trained dogs to become emotional support animals. I love music of all sorts, I play the flute and enjoyed performing for the residents in the home I worked in. I love horse riding and the general outdoors. I love to learn new things whenever I can. I really enjoy watching all sorts of different types of films in my spare time, and I am also an artist. I love to paint peoples animals for them and I donated a large painting of mountains overlooking a lake with trees to my last home.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: No
Are you a vehicle owner? *: No
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: I am hopefully starting a 3 day a week (16hrs) course for nursing in college and am unsure of which days they will be. However I am free every evening and all weekends.
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: No
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: So long as the shift needing to be swapped does not clash with my study I am extremely flexible.

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary: I have a valid enhanced DBS check which I can provide upon request
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Barry, Barry Island, Dinas Powys, Penarth, Sully, Rhoose.
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: Up to 20. Possibly more depending on when the hours would be.
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday PM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday PM/Thursday PM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /
Further Information: I am free any time from July to September 21st, after that I do not yet know when my college hours will be, I know they will cover three days at 16 hours in total. I will provide a further update as soon as I know more.