Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title (required): Mrs.
First Name (required):
Last Name (required):
Address 1 (required):
Address 2:
Town (required):
County (required): Vale of Glamorgan
Postcode (required):
Phone number (required):
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. (required):
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I am an active, happy fun loving 54 year old mother of 3 grown up children. I cared for a young boy while he visited his disabled father who lived in his own home three times a week until the father passed away. I basically became mum during these visiting times but my roles included cooking healthy nutritious meals, creating activities that both father and son could enjoy, organising and driving them weekly to outings locally or further afield, attending hospital appointments. I assisted the live in Carer with all the personal needs and manual handling of the disabled father. I also took them twice to Centre Parcs for a holiday, I made sure that we had fun and happy memories were made. I am still in regular contact with the family and meet up with their son who was 7 when I started the job now he is 16 years old. I cared for my late father who had sudden total blindness for 15 years one day a week to give my mother rest-bite. I worked for quiet a few years as a teaching assistant looking after disabled children dealing with all their emotional, physical, personal and educational needs at Ysgol Erwr Delyn, Penarth in the late 90s, the school no longer exists.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): So many qualities are important when working with a disabled person. I will list the qualities that I think are important in no particular order :- Empathy, patience, be fun loving, have some level of intelligence, be able to use your initiative, sense of humour, trust and discretion, ensure dignity, be aware of health and safety, be able to seek help or advise if needed, be interested in the disabled persons interests and encourage new interests, to help broaden their horizons within their capabilities, be able to encourage independence, be able to listen and communicate.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I am fun loving and very patient. I have a great sense of humour and have always felt a genuine empathy for anyone with a disability ,it comes naturally to me. I know when to step in and assist but on the same hand I know when to step back, I encourage independence.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I like to feel that I can make a difference, it’s such a rewarding job I like that it’s a job where you build a friendship and trust with the person that you area PA to and their family. It’s a job that I feel very happy doing.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I love cooking and having all my family or friends for a get together and meal I have a horse so my life long passion is horse riding. I have 2 little dogs so enjoy walking them daily. I have a 10 month old grand daughter who I look after one day a week. I love a good TV drama. I’ve am happily married so spending time with my husband, family and recently widowed mother.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes
Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I am able to work any day bar Thursdays. I can be flexible weekly if required .
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): Yes
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.:

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes
I consent to the above (required): Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Penarth, Dinas Powys
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 12 to 16 pending on shift pattern
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Sunday AM/
Further Information: