Personal Assistant Application Form Submission

Title *: Mr.
First Name *:
Last Name *:
Address 1 *:
Address 2:
Town *: Barry
County *: Vale of Glamorgan
Postcode *: CF63 
Phone number *: 07855510850
Please enter your email address for submission confirmation. *:
Reference number of job being applied for *:
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I am currently working with Dewis and I have been for the past 11 months where I have been working with 2 clients with different needs. Before this I was a volunteer with 4 separate organizations. Cardiff City Council-I managed a coffee morning for those living in supported accommodation. Here my duties included keeping the kitchen area clean and tidy and free of any hazards and making sure high standards of hygiene were always adhered to. My main duty was to help integrate the people living there as it was a very diverse community and I was there to offer support and respite with a listening ear. Sova [safeguarding of vulnerable adults] I worked on a one to one basis with refugees from all backgrounds and different ethnicities, helping them gain confidence and employment through accessing services and on occasions helping them improve their English vocabulary. The Wallich-Here I was helping feed the homeless in Cardiff City Centre. Helping with the breakfast run, keeping them clothed and providing information with regards to housing options. Making sure they had access to all the service needs they required and checking on their wellbeing. The Alzheimers Society-I worked tor The Alzheimers Society as a side by side volunteer with a service user living with Dementia. I was responsible [while with him] for his safety. Keeping his brain ticking over, keeping him occupied and allowing the independence he craved for, visiting coffee shops, walking, chatting etc etc. I had to complete many modules online before being accepted as a volunteer.
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: Reliability, trustworthy, respect, sympathy, empathy, confidentiality, compassion, patience, communication, calm demeanour, knowledge and understanding of their condition. Being creative if and when is needed.
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I feel I have contributed with my clients for the last 11 months and would continue to do this through empowering the person. Keeping them independent and integrating them in communities. Disabled people shouldnt be treated any differently in society and i would help to get this point across by treating them with respect and as a valuable member of society. I would build a great rapport with them and build trust through reliability and listening to their concerns. I would offer assistance when I felt they need it, but not take over as their independence is very important. Taking an interest in what they are saying and doing regardless whether its an everyday thing or a goal they want to achieve and helping with activities.
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: Im a people person and hopefully I have demonstrated this. Im friendly, genuine and very approachable and I like to help people. If I can make a bit of difference to somebodys wellbeing, self confidence then that would be a huge accomplishment.
What are your hobbies/interests?: I have quite a few hobbies and interests which include holidays, long walks, cycling, being out in nature. Enjoy watching many sports, football, rugby, boxing, snooker etc etc. Also I love watching movies, old and new. My Father was born in the 1930s and I was brought up watching the old movies and actors and actresses such as James Cagney, Errol Flynn, Olivia De Havilland.
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes
Do you drive? *: Yes
Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes
Do you smoke? *: No
Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: Would prefer days, but can work evenings and overnight so no real restrictions
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: No
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.:

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/
Please provide details if necessary:
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes
I consent to the above *: Yes
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Rhoose, Barry, Sully, Penarth, Dinas Powys, Llandough and Cardiff
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 48
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/
Further Information: The only restriction I have at present is on a Friday night as I already have a client then