Quote ref: CDF KB on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

Hello, I’m Kate, I employ Personal Care Assistants to help me go about my everyday life. In September 2022 I am moving to Cardiff to start studying Music at Cardiff University. I am looking for trustworthy, caring people to help me reach my potential.  

I am a 23-year-old female who enjoys music and living life like someone my age should! I have Functional Neurological Disorder, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, seizures, and a variety of other health conditions. These have a profound effect on my ability to carry out daily activities at a pace a healthy person does. I experience chronic pain and fatigue and I therefore use a wheelchair when I need to. My mental health has been strongly impacted by my chronic illness and disability, meaning I require a strong support system for my emotional wellbeing. My Personal Care Assistants play a key role. My health is highly unpredictable and can vary from day to day, some days I require much more help than others. I will be living in Cardiff, either in student accommodation or a house share, this is to be confirmed, but will be central in Cardiff.

 

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

The purpose of the job is to assist me with my daily life, both at home, in the community and at University. The successful candidate(s) will be carrying out care tasks, supporting me with my general wellbeing, assisting with my mental health, supporting me with academic tasks at University, and supporting me with everyday tasks.

HOURS OF WORK

There are two posts available:

  • Post 1: approximately 48 hours per week, including some day shifts, some night shifts and some weekend shifts, exact shift hours to be discussed at a later date.
  • Post 2: approximately 48 hours per week, including some day shifts, some night shifts and some weekend shifts, exact shift hours to be discussed at a later date.
  • The successful candidate(s) will be available to cover occasional staff sickness at short notice.
  • *Please do contact me if you wish to discuss hours or have any preferences.*

 

RATE OF PAY

£   12 per hour.

 

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

 

  • Supporting me with student life at university, both educationally and with my health and wellbeing
  • Supporting with my study when I need you to by carrying out tasks such as scribing
  • Motivating me to achieve my goals and aspirations
  • Ensuring my social life is as active as possible and ensuring I am not isolated
  • Personal care when required, including assistance with showering, dressing and toileting. You will be required to use moving and handling equipment such as a hoist when necessary.
  • Caring for me when I have seizures
  • Monitoring my overall health
  • Providing emotional support for my mental health conditions
  • Advocating for me at medical appointments
  • Cooking and meal preparation
  • Help with day-to-day chores such as cleaning and laundry etc.

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Be reliable and have good attendance
  • Be committed to supporting me
  • Be empathetic and caring
  • Have a flexible approach – providing the care and support I require when I need it and understand the need for flexibility when unpredictable situations occur.
  • Be physically able to carry out necessary moving and handling tasks and be able to bend and kneel to clamp my wheelchair into my car.
  • To be supportive of maintaining my independence by taking a step back when it is appropriate to do so.
  • Be able to react calmly and confidently to emergency situations – e.g. seizures
  • Be able to support me with my mental health difficulties without being personally affected.
  • Have a good sense of humor and a fun personality!
  • Due to the amount of time we will spend together I require someone who is able to have a friendly relationship with me whilst respecting professional boundaries.
  • Have respect for my privacy and confidentiality
  • Hold a manual driving license and be comfortable driving my wheelchair accessible vehicle long distances and in cities – I love a road trip!
  • Be a non-smoker
  • Preferably be female

ABOUT THE JOB

One of my existing PAs says that supporting me is very rewarding and that she looks forward to coming to work each day.

Successful applicants will be subject to satisfactory references and enhanced DBS check.

All training will be provided.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.