To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission  

 

Title *: Mrs. 

Address 2: Danescourt  

Town *: Cardiff  

I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes 

 

Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: I started working with disabled children and young people at the age of 16, where I volunteered as a befriender for Community Circles and a play assistant for Noahs Ark. Within these roles I supported children and young people to access a variety of activities including going swimming, crafts, shopping and going out in the community. These experiences led me to pursue a career in supporting disabled children. Noahs Ark quickly offered me a paid position, and I continued working there during the Easter and Summer holidays for 5 years. Working 1:1 with children with autism and other learning disabilities. I then worked as an Activities Coordinator for Sense, organising and facilitating activities for young people with single/ multi-sensory impairments and additional learning needs. I ensured a safe, positive environment by thoroughly risk assessing both the activity and individuals attending. Part of the role also included supporting with personal hygiene for some of the participants and also being confident with crises management and safely providing intervention when needed. Following Sense, I worked for Versus Arthritis, leading a project supporting young people with juvenile arthritis overcome any barriers that they were facing due to their condition through workshops, emotional support sessions and therapeutic activities. Most recently I worked for the National Deaf Children Society as an Early Years Programme Officer. During this role I provided therapeutic activities for under 5s who were deaf, or had a hearing impairment to promote language and communication development. At university I studied a undergraduate degree in Creative and Therapeutic Arts, and Masters in Play and Therapeutic Play.  

 

What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: I believe being a person led practitioner is an essential quality for being a personal assistant with a disabled person. Ensuring that you are following their needs, likes and dislikes to work with them as an individual. Being a good communicator is vital, and on a level that is a appropriate and accessible to the individual to ensure that you are keeping them informed and empowered wherever you can. Being flexible, calm and able to adapt are also important qualities that are essential for the work. Being able to respond quickly and appropriately to keep the individual safe. Being fun and positive. A personal assistant needs to be approachable, and to ensure that the individual has a fun and positive time whilst working with you.  

 

How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: Expanding from the question above, ensuring a person centered practice is essential. Listening to what the individual would like to do, and not assuming you know what is best. Encouraging them to do things independently where appropriate, for example, if out shopping, can they manage their own money and pay for their purchase. Also encouraging members of the pubic to talk directly to them in appropriate situations. I was working with a young women who was blind and a waiter came up to me and asked if she would like a drink. I politely asked the waiter to ask the women. Ive had this situation occur quite regularly, and I think it is about politely redirecting the individual appropriately so the disabled person can speak for themselves and not be spoken for.  

 

What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: I am about to embark on my Postgraduate Diploma in Occupational Therapy and in my spare time I would love to continue to support disabled children and young people. Being a PA provides an essential role to young peoples lives to give them some independence away from their family whilst also providing some much needed rest bite for their families. I am aware of how essential that role is, and I want to support however I can.  

 

What are your hobbies/interests?: I love dancing and fitness sessions, I recently started tap dancing and try to attend as many Zumba classes as I can. I always have a to do list full of all the arts and crafts projects I want to try. Lastly, I also love reading. I attend a few bookclubs and a quiet night in with a good book is my idea of heaven.  

 

Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes 

 

Do you drive? *: Yes 

Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes 

Do you smoke? *: No 

 

Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes 

 

What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: Weekends (all day) and evenings (after 5pm)  

 

Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: Yes 

 

If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I am starting University full time in September, so I will be available some days to cover shifts however this will be varied depending on that weeks timetable. 

 

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/ 

 

Please provide details if necessary:  
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes 

 

I consent to the above *: Yes 

 

I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes 

 

What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Cardiff  

 

How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 17 

Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday PM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday PM/Thursday PM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM / 

Further Information: