To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

 

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission 

 
Title (required): Ms. 

Address 2: Splott 
Town (required): Cardiff 

 
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes 

 
Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I have worked as a carer previously, providing the fundamentals of care and striving to improve the quality of life for the vulnerable clients that I worked with. I completed the first year and a half of a nursing degree before having to withdraw from the course due to poor health, so have an in-depth knowledge the role of the nurse and healthcare assistant and what it takes to provide vulnerable people with care and support. I have also worked within the home with some of my previous clients, so I understand the pressures of being in someones home and the need for respect and communication to ensure that all needs are being met and all boundaries honoured. 

 
What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): To be a carer you have to have strong interpersonal skills, including communication and listening, and you must be kind, empathetic, and patient. Its my opinion that it also helps if a carer has a positive attitude, is practical and motivated, and is as reliable as they can be. Whilst the majority of the care I have provided previously has been for elderly patients with cognitive impairments, I do have experience with providing care for disabled adults, and I have learned that the most important thing for the carer to do is listen and understand what the clients goals are, and to work cohesively with the client to help them achieve those goals. 

 
How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I am adept at providing the fundamentals of care (hygiene, elimination, nutrition, hydration, manual handling) from my time on the nursing course, but all my training in these areas needs refreshing as the certificates I hold are out of date. I am kind, calm, patient and empathetic, and I listen and communicate very well. I am motivated to help people who struggle, and find great enjoyment in helping others to achieve their goals. I am very adaptable, and have a wide range of interests and hobbies from which to draw experience from. 

 
What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): One of the things I most enjoyed about the nursing role was the chance I had to help people. As I previously mentioned, I am very motivated to help vulnerable people and am always striving to improve quality of life. My time doing medical nursing placements showed me how rewarding it is to get to know patients over extended periods of time, and my time doing district nursing placements showed me how much more relaxed patients can be when theyre in their own environments, and how beneficial this can be for them. I want to devote myself to one client at a time, and help them to achieve their goals and live their best life. 

 
What are your hobbies/interests?: I enjoy walking in nature, yoga, singing, music, origami, sci-fi television, animated movies, going to the gym, dancing, cleaning, painting, crafts, puzzles, puzzle games, reading, cooking and writing. I wouldnt say Im any kind of expert at any of these things (except cleaning!), but I have a lot of passion, and am always open to trying and learning new things! 

 
Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes 

 
Do you drive? (required): No 
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): No 
Do you smoke? (required): Yes 

 
Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes 

 
What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I am currently able to work whenever required, but I am not able to work 12 hour shifts. 

 
Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): No 

 
If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: I understand from the advert that I am not an ideal candidate because of my lack of driving license and car, but it is my intent to start learning to drive as soon as I am gainfully employed, and have a car by the end of Spring. This would unfortunately mean that any clients I might have would have to bear with me in the meantime, but I am honest and reliable and would endeavour to get driving as soon as possible! 

 
Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/ 

 
Please provide details if necessary: 

 
I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes 

 
I consent to the above (required): Yes 

 
I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes 

 
What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Central Cardiff (based in Splott and unfortunately not yet driving!) 

 
How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 40 

 
Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/ 

 
Further Information: I am currently available to work whenever required, but I am not able to work 12 hour shifts. My first priority is to get driving and get a car - hopefully by the end of Spring!