To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission 

Title (required): Ms. 

Address 2: Tongwynlais 

Town (required): Cardiff 

I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes 

Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I have worked as a support worker in a company called Innovate Trust for the past 10 years. I also volunteered for an older gentleman for 14 years as an advocate with Advocacy Matters Wales. I have a postgraduate diploma in Gerontology & Aging and Im quite empetgetic & knowledgeable regarding the challenges a person with dementia faces on a daily basis. I have a degree in engineering, and I can easily converse about engineering & sports. I do also have a keen interest in politics. I believe local walks is essential for the wellbeing of a person with dementia and will do my utmost in safeguarding the gentleman in question. 

What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): 1. Trustworthy 2. Empathy. 3. Understanding the nature of the illness, and hence knowledge of how to deal with situations that may arise. 4. Respect the person, and their needs and wishes. 5. Duty of care & safegaurding. 6. Being a good communicator. 7. Being open to ideas and learning. 8. Friendly and approachable. 

How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I will contribute by means of the qualities that I believe I possess, and listed above. A person with dementia needs to be respected, just as any healthy person. This is especially so not to be condescending. 

What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I love helping people, especially older adults. I always have. I really enjoy their company. I understand that they know so much more than me, and I can always learn from them. I get an intense sense of satisfaction when Im leaving the client happy, comfortable, and cared for. This to me, is priceless. 

What are your hobbies/interests?: I love going to coffee shops & just watch the world go by. I like local walks & occasionally visiting charity shops. I enjoy reading, watching sports (really), and I do love company of pets. I dont smoke and dont drink alcohol. Alcohol is a personal preference, but Id not work in a smokers house. 

Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes 

Do you drive? (required): No 
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): No 
Do you smoke? (required): No 

Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes 

What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): I prefer to work a few days in the week, as a block. Itd then give me work/Life balance. Buses bring me to Whitchurch as early as 7am, and I could finish just after tea-time, for say, two days a week. We could stretch the 17 hours to 3 days, if required. 

Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): No 

If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: Im not a Welsh speaker, but have 2 Welsh children who are proud of their Welsh heritage. My not speaking Welsh, may be of disadvantage. 

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/ 

Please provide details if necessary: 

I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes 

I consent to the above (required): Yes 

I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes 

What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Whitchurch, Cardiff Tongwynlais, Cardiff Cathays, Cardiff Gabalfa, Cardiff Cardiff City Centre Pontypridd Centre Porth Centre 

How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 15-20 hours 

Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: 
Further Information: I can do 2 full days, any day in the week. I could also do 3 shorter days. I would prefer not to cover overnight.