To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission  

Title *: Miss. 

Town *: Cardiff  

I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. *: Yes 

Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. *: Volunteered in a primary school, worked 1-1 with special needs children with Autism and ADHD, facilitated learning and developed their social and emotional skills through modelling language and developing their ability to build friendships while enabling them to engage in play. During time volunteering within the school, I worked across many year groups, teaching guiding reading, outdoor learning, Spanish as well as English and maths. Charity work: have recently become involved in a charity named Active8 which is dedicated to enabling disabled people and helping to build their confidence through opportunities and friendship. Alongside this, I am undertaking a Level 2 certificate in Understanding Children and Young Peoples Mental Health. Worked in hospitality for five years as front of house. Managed front of house staff for the past year which necessitated a lot of responsibility and organisation on my part. Ensured that I was efficient and able to adapt to different situations with customers and other staff members. Student Mentor to first year students at university. Supported first year students with settling into student life. I held workshops to help them with different skills and emotions that they may have had on starting university. This task meant that I had to relate to others and think how best to support and engage with them. I planned fun activities to help them with aspects of fresher life, housing and finances. By planning theses activities, I wanted the students to feel less challenged by their new life and find it easier to embrace it. Sports Leader: was responsible for organising events and ensuring that all students were able to participate. I aimed to make sport inclusive and fun so that all could and wanted to join. I organised events for different year groups and abilities. GCSES: 10 x A*-B including As in English and Science and a B in Maths. A Levels: History A, English Literature C, Spanish B, Creative Writing D.  

What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? *: I believe it is important to have a dynamic personality with energy and imagination to engage with the individual you are working with. You must be able to build a relationship on trust and reliability that still allows you to relate to an individual and have fun. It is important though to be trustworthy and still keep working practices confidential and safe too. Other qualities that I feel are essential include organisation and the ability to adapt to changing situations and climates. You should be open to events changing and be able to deal with this in a calm and confident manner. Furthermore, being able to empathise with an individual will help to ensure activities are suitable and that you can understand and assist them as well as possible.  

How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? *: I feel I would be able to contribute to the needs and independence of a disabled person because I have a caring, calm and confident personality which I would hope would facilitate a child into building a strong and trustworthy relationship. Consequently, allowing them to gain confidence and express themselves. In turn, this will facilitate their independence but also allow them to engage with the wider world through outside play and creative activities. Therefore, helping them to build their social and emotional skills. I believe I have the experience to develop a relationship with a disabled person that is comfortable for them and enables their life too. Whether this is through conversations or activities and opportunities that can be accessed.  

What is it about PA work which appeals to you? *: My aim in the future is to become a social worker and I would like to gain more experience within the social care sector by working with children and adults. I also want to help facilitate individuals through creative and engaging activities to help them develop confidence and enable them to live fulfilling futures. I have always wanted to work with children and have enjoyed volunteering in schools working with children with SEN/D. I believe that working with SEN/D is fulfilling and working with them outside the constraints of education will allow new opportunities and challenges to work through and overcome. 

What are your hobbies/interests?: I have always been quite active and enjoy going to the gym, running and walking. I have recently signed up to the Cardiff Half Marathon which is hoping to take place in March 2021. I am also part of a netball team and enjoy training and socialising with the team. I enjoy outdoor activities like hiking (especially since I live near the Moors!) and water-sports like swimming, kayaking and canoeing. At university, I am currently studying English Literature and History with particular interests in early modern history and empire. Further to this, I enjoy reading and cooking. I can speak/write/read basic Spanish after studying it at A-Level. I am also interested in a future career in social care and hope to pursue a Masters in Social Work with particular interests in working with children, fostering and adoption. 

Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? *: Yes 

Do you drive? *: Yes 
Are you a vehicle owner? *: Yes 
Do you smoke? *: No 

Are you able to undertake training? *: Yes 

What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work? *: I am very flexible with days/nights of work. 

Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? *: No 

If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: 

Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? *: No/ 

I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. *: Yes 

I consent to the above *: Yes 

I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes 

What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Cardiff and surrounding areas  

How many hours of work can you offer per week?: Flexible with hours  

Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Monday Overnight/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Tuesday Overnight/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Wednesday Overnight/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Thursday Overnight/Friday AM/Friday PM/Friday Overnight/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Saturday Overnight/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /Sunday Overnight/ 
Further Information: Am studying online this year therefore am flexible with time I can give.