To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title (required): Mrs.

Address 2: Tongwynlais
Town (required): CARDIFF
 
I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes


Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): GCSE Maths, English, History, Geography, Human Biology, Art, Certificate in Welfare Studies, BA Hons DipSW, Community Care Award I have been a practicing Registered Social Worker for 18 years primarily working with people who have a dementia or functional illness supporting them to maintain their independence and safety at home. I have worked jointly with my colleagues from health, private and voluntary agencies to provide a holistic assessment, monitoring and review services. I developed a knowledge of various medical conditions and the equipment required to support them. I took early retirement in 2012 to care for my mum who was diagnosed with heart failure. We were able to spend some quality time together creating many happy memories before she passed away. I became self employed and have the following experience: Live in carer - privately employed January 2014 - January 2015 Working as part of a team I worked from Wednesday afternoon through to Sunday morning. I provided 24 hour care for an elderly lady who had dementia. I was responsible for preparing all meals, drinks and prompting/encouragement to consume them. I administered medication from a blister pack and assisted with all aspects of personal care, washing, dressing, oral hygiene, assisting to the toilet. I also took the lady out socially in my car to the hairdresser, appointments and outings which she enjoyed. I used reminiscence techniques to stimulate happy memories for her and also managed the daily household tasks to maintain a clean, safe household environment. 2015 - 2018 Employed by Randstad Social Care Agency - I worked as a Locum Social Worker covering various assignments for Powys County Council and Rhondda Cynon Taff Council. 2019 - 2020 I was privately employed as a Live in Carer working 2 weeks on/2 weeks off. I supported a 95 year old lady with dementia enabling her to reside safely in her home in Hemyock, Devon. 2020 - November 2021 I have been supporting a 97 year old lady with dementia enabling her to continue to reside in her own home


What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): To get to know the person and gain an understanding of how their disability affects them. To have empathy, be a good listener and be supportive in an enabling way.


How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): Following my social work career I decided to utilise the skills and knowledge I accrued over the years to become a self employed Personal Assistant/Carer. I have enjoyed this immensely and found this to be very fulfilling. I am a very calm, caring person with a great deal of compassion for others. My knowlledge of dementia and how it affects individuals has helped me to provide flexible, person centred care. I have good listening skills and am able to reflect well. I love to chat and most importantly I do not panic in a crisis


What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): Being able to work one to one to maintain someones safety and independence is very rewarding as you can see the difference your support makes to that person.


What are your hobbies/interests?: I enjoy a daily walk around the Taff Trail and Forest farm Nature Reserve with my dog Millie who is a very friendly Cockerpoo (ideal therapy dog). I like to go hill walking on the Garth mountain and to Penyfan in Brecon for a day out. I have a great sense of humour and enjoy comedy festivals my favourite being the Edinburgh Fringe. I like to socialise with family/friends read murder/mystery novels and when time permits I like to renovate cast iron fireplaces/victorian furniture


Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): No


Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No


Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes


What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): Monday – Sunday


Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): No


If you would like to expand on the answers given above? Please use the box below.: The elderly lady I was caring for was an animal lover and she enjoyed seeing my dog Millie and being able to stroke her gave her much pleasure.


Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/


I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes


I consent to the above (required): Yes


I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes


What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Most of Cardiff considered as I drive.


How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 30


Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /


Further Information: I am fully vaccinated for Covid 19 - final booster done in September 2021 I have a current Enhanced DBS which is on the Update service