To request further information or to arrange an interview please Click here

Personal Assistant Application Form Submission


Title (required): Mr.

Town (required): Cardiff


I confirm that I have the right to work in the UK and am able to prove my eligibility status when required to do so. (required): Yes


Please read the Job Description carefully before providing information in this Section of the Application Form. Give details of your previous employment or experience which you think would help you to do this job. (required): I have held a variety of jobs working closely with people. These roles have included: working as a teacher and as a teaching assistant in schools, working as an assessment worker in social services, working for a community center and working as a musician supporting additional needs children for an arts charity. Across all of my jobs, I have particularly enjoyed being alongside and supporting those who are disadvantaged and promoting the values of equal voice, equal access and equal opportunity. In my roles in schools, I was responsible for the safety of a group of young people a responsibility that I took very seriously. One important aspect of keeping the group safe was having a good understanding of each members’ needs. For example, one child was severely allergic to strawberries and so in addition to taking precautions myself, I was an advocate for making sure others knew about this. I would often remind the kitchen staff and new adults to the class so that the child remained safe.


What qualities do you think are important when working as a personal assistant with a disabled person? (required): A personal assistant should be reliable, professional and willing to adapt to the needs of the disabled person. I feel that it is important to approach the role from a position of ‘giving service,’ where the activities are led by the disabled person and they are able to make choices while the personal assistant is there to create a supportive, safe and enabling environment. I demonstrated these qualities when caring for a family member who suffered from a serious mental illness. They would phone me when feeling vulnerable and so I made sure I was a reliable contact by always having my phone on me. I also supported them by accompanying them on short activity holidays led by what they wanted to do. It was fun to do things outside my usual preferences!


How do you think you can contribute towards the needs and the independence of a disabled person? (required): I enjoy taking the time to get to know other people and am skilled at listening with a calm and friendly manner. As testament to my people skills, in my last role at a school there were a number of pupils who chose to confide in me about important issues when previously they had not with other members of staff. All such issues were dealt with professionalism and trust. I would use my people skills to engage with a disabled person in a way that acknowledges them fully and is respectful of their own unique personality. Importantly I would also ensure that I am someone that they enjoy spending time with and someone that can support them to do the things they want to do. To support the development of this, I believe our interests may align somewhat - it was good to read that they are bubbly and energetic as this is also my character.


What is it about PA work which appeals to you? (required): I get a lot of energy, motivation and meaning out of supporting other people and so this opportunity to make a difference really appeals to me. I believe that working one-to-one is a great learning opportunity and in the past I have had fantastic experiences working with autistic individuals in education. I consider being a PA as a new interesting step in my personal development. Furthermore, I have recently enjoyed volunteering at a local community garden which has demonstrated to me that I thrive when working outside as part of the local community. In the past, I worked for a community centre in Oxford where I established and facilitated the running of new community groups at the centre. My decisions about the activities were led by the interests and needs of the local residents - a testament to the fact that I am driven when acting as an advocate for the needs of others.


What are your hobbies/interests?: I relish participating in active outdoor activities. For example, I like to begin my day with some exercise in the park and I am an avid cyclist. As a relatively new Cardiff resident I enjoyed exploring the many local cycle routes this summer. The other thing I love doing is playing the drums and have been musical since school. I practise the drum kit regularly at my local community centre and love playing along with other musicians. I am exploring using these skills and my passion for music to set up a project which I feel would complement this work very nicely. I drive, hold a clean driving license and own a small van.


Would you consider a casual position if you are unsuccessful with this job? (required): Yes


Do you drive? (required): Yes
Are you a vehicle owner?  (required): Yes
Do you smoke? (required): No


Are you able to undertake training? (required): Yes


What days/nights are you able to work, or prefer to work?  (required): Monday to Friday


Are there any circumstances which would prevent you from providing cover or swapping a shift? (required): No


Is there is any such information you wish to disclose, relating to any cautions or convictions which will appear on your mandatory DBS check? (required): No/


I agree that there is nothing which would prevent me from doing this job. (required): Yes


I consent to the above (required): Yes


I agree that the information I provide will be posted to the Dewis CIL PA noticeboard (all personal information will be withheld).: Yes


What geographical area’s are you able to cover?: Cardiff


How many hours of work can you offer per week?: 30


Please indicate the approximate times that you are available for work throughout the week.: Monday AM/Monday PM/Tuesday AM/Tuesday PM/Wednesday AM/Wednesday PM/Thursday AM/Thursday PM/Friday AM/Friday PM/Saturday AM/Saturday PM/Sunday AM/Sunday PM /