Quote ref: CDP1556 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant


Looking for something different within the care sector?
We offer consistent hours, one location with good parking and access to transport network, working within a supportive team


A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF
I am an 85 year old man, living with dementia in Llanishen, Cardiff. I live with my wife in our own home and I enjoy spending time talking about my career, travels, sport (rugby, cricket, football) and happy memories of my childhood and adult life. I enjoy listening to Classic FM, and watch football and cricket matches on the television. I enjoy my meals at home and go out with my family to local places to eat. I need assistance with the morning showering and dressing routine and to remember to take my medication, as well as having simple but tasty meals prepared for me. I walk independently around my house with the support of mobility aids. I am a confident, well educated person who is interested to share my own experiences, but to also learn from others and I enjoy stimulating conversation on a wide variety of subjects.

PURPOSE OF JOB


I need support with personal care and daily routines in the home and for a PA to provide respite each day for my wife, who is my main carer, so that she can pursue her own independent activities.
There is an established PA in place who works 17 hours a week and my daughter also supports extended respite breaks to cover annual leave.

PLACE OF WORK
I live in Llanishen. Public transport links which are excellent. We can also offer off-road parking.

HOURS OF WORK
I require a PA to work for 6 hours on a Wednesday and 6 hour on a Friday each week. The hours would run from 8.30am – 2.30am both days to maintain consistency with the established PA routine.

However, we are open to and welcome in return, some flexibility with this which can be discussed on application. This is an ideal job for someone who requires annual leave within the school holidays, as my daughter can provide cover as carer.



RATE OF PA
£9.80 an hour



TASKS INVOLVED

• Support with showering and dressing routine
• Applying skin creams
• Organising cloths washing as necessary
• Checking and organising washing and changing of bedding and towels
• Checking and cleaning toilets and sinks as necessary
• Vacuuming and mopping floors as necessary
• Making drinks and ensuring good hydration
• Administering medication and occasional liaison during home visits with medical professionals
• Preparing breakfast and lunch
• Participating in stimulating conversation
• Operating the TV or video as required


TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED
• Articulate, clear communicator
• Flexible
• Can use initiative
• Experienced at working in a private home
• Patient, confident and considerate
• Trustworthy and reliable

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probation period will be necessary in the first instance. Wages will be paid 4 weekly. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.
Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

Thank you.