Quote ref: CDP1968 on application form Apply Now


Personal Assistant


18-year-old boy living in Rumney, Cardiff requires a personal assistant to support him out in the community.

He has a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder and has a little bit of speech although he will only speak if he wants to or is prompted to use more than one word.

He has a big family and is one of five siblings.  He loves his family and enjoys being around them but also likes his own space.  He will remove himself if he starts to feel overwhelmed and will go to his room or out in the garden if the weather is nice. He prefers to be around older people as he sometimes does not like the noise smaller children make or them running around.


Hours are to support out in the community to activities he enjoys.  He loves the outdoors, going to the park and having short walks. He loves the beach, the sand, the water and anything that is sensory to the touch. He also enjoys going bowling, cinema and playing games.

He loves the trampoline, in general is willing to try new things and maybe go to new places. He likes sitting in the front seat of the car.

He doesn't like birds or anything that flies or has wings. He is OK with dogs but not in his space as he avoids them if coming towards him or too close to him.

He is not fully aware of danger like crossing the road and being on his own so he needs support. He knows what he likes and what he does not like and he will try and tell you by either saying no or walking away. He needs assuring at all times by communicating and telling him what is about to happen or what is happening although he will not fully respond he will give you a nod with an OK.


5 hours per week to be used flexibly any day apart from Wednesdays and Saturdays.


£12.70 an hour


Social calls e.g. Walk, Park, Activities like bowling or trampolining; anything weather allowing. 


  • Reliable
  • Patient
  • Trustworthy
  • Ability to take initiative
  • Caring
  • Friendly
  • He can try and access public transport although it has been years since he has done so.


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probation period will be necessary in the first instance. Wages will be paid 4 weekly. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.

Thank you.