Quote ref: CDP538 on application form Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Personal Assistant

GENERAL INFORMATION

I am a lady living in the Canton area of Cardiff. I have Cerebral Palsy, so I need assistance to live the life I want to lead. I have a speech impairment, which means sometimes it is difficult to understand me. I am always willing to repeat myself. I need someone who is lively and fun to be around. A person with a bright bubbly personality is the most important thing.

I like going to the cinema, pubs and clubs, eating out and shopping! I also enjoy going on the Internet.

Because I need personal care, my Personal Assistant must be female, and exemption is claimed under Section 7(2)(b) of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975.

HOURS OF WORK

Every other Monday 1pm- 5pm

Every other Saturday 7pm-Sunday 2pm (over night)

Plus overtime. Flexibility is required.

RATE OF PAY

£10.68 per hour (day rate)

£88.00 per night (night rate)

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Assisting me to get in and out of bed.
  • Supporting me to get washed and dressed.
  • Washing my hair when needed.
  • Preparing food/drinks whenever needed.
  • Assistance going to the toilet (when outside home).
  • Assistance with hair and makeup.
  • Changing during the night if ill.
  • Changing bedding.
  • Washing up and tidying after meals.
  • Cleaning kitchen.
  • Washing and ironing.
  • Cleaning bathroom.
  • Hoovering.
  • Mopping floors.
  • Dusting.
  • Shopping.
  • Assisting with social calls when out and about in the community.
  • All aspects of personal care, including incontinence and menstrual cycle.

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A probation period will be necessary in the first instance. Wages will be paid 4 weekly. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.  

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.