Quote ref: CDP602 on application form Apply now


        Part-time Personal Assistant 





93-year-old lady living in Lakeside, Cardiff is looking for a personal assistant to support her with day to day tasks. 


She has Alzhimers disease and is therefore forgetful and can get depressed and emotional.  


She is in good general health however she had a broken hip and had an operation to insert a plate and pin in September. This resulted in significantly reduce mobility. She lives at home on her own and is recovering well.  


The main thing she now does is read but it would be good to get her more involved in other things such as cooking, possibly writing, book club etc. She gets bored and likes to chat.   




To support at home, out in the community, respite for family: The role is basically to support her in everyday activities and encourage her to do things that she is fearful of doing. The role will include personal care, washing, dressing, helping her to prepare meals, general household duties, supporting her to do physio and encouraging her to do everyday things and making sure that she is safe. Where possible taking her out - for a walk, in the garden, to the shops etc  


She currently has a PA to cover some of her hours and the remainder are filled by an agency. She wants another PA to fill in the hours to allow more flexibility and consistency.  





9 to 11 hours a week (exact hours can be negotiated)They will try and be as flexible as possible.   


She needs a morning personal care call (wash/shower/dress and breakfast) ideally around 8.30-9.30am on Monday; Wednesday - Sunday. The remaining hours would be agreed and can be added to the morning call so its 1.5hr/2hrs or at lunch time for 0.5/1hr for specific days. If the morning call on Sunday is a problem, then it might be possible to cover this differently.  





£9.75 an hour 




Tasks may include assistance or support with the following: 

  • Personal care 
  • Dressing, undressing 
  • Moving and Handling, using hoist and other aids 
  • Meals and preparation 
  • Social outings, community activities 
  • Shopping 
  • Hospital appointments 
  • Household duties 
  • Any other reasonable task 




  • Reliable/Punctual 
  • Considerate/Caring/Trustworthy 
  • Friendly/Chatty 
  • Confident/Proactive 
  • Experienced/Training provided, condition of employment 
  • Car driver/Access to a car to transport employer. 
  • Clean driving license 
  • Consider if Pets in the home - there isnt one currently but there may be a cat at some stage 






Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A probation period will be necessary in the first instance.  Wages will be paid 4 weekly.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You will be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.  

Please Note: Dewis Centre for Independent Living is acting on behalf of a third party and will not be your employer or be liable for any issues arising out of your employment should you be offered employment.