Please quote job reference DP1127 on the application. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

Part-time Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I am a disabled young women aged 30 and I live in the Rhydfelin area of Rhondda Cynon Taf with my parents and 1 cat.  

I am visually impaired and on times I have problems with my hearing. I also have epilepsy which is fairly controlled at present. I have no physical mobility problems but I do need some support and assistance to get about.

I have a learning disability which means that whilst I cannot read or write, my conversation skills are very good and I am happy and chatty and I get along well with most people.

I like trying new things and am happy to have a go at almost anything. I am a bit of a daredevil. I enjoy going out and about, especially shopping, McDonalds, bowling, going to the park etc. I love animals, especially horses and I would like to go to the park occasionally. I like all music, but especially enjoy Dolly Parton, Johnny Cash and Kevin Wilson. I like watching shows, especially pantomimes.

When my hearing is bad I have trouble with noisy, crowded places so I would prefer to go somewhere a bit quieter on those occasions.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

I am looking to employ a personal assistant to provide me with some social independence.  

HOURS OF WORK

12 Hours per week. Days/times to be discussed at the interview.

RATE OF PAY

£9.90 per hour

40p per mile for journeys we do together in your car.

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

  • Taking me out in the car to places that I enjoy
  • Promoting my independence in the local community and country wide.
  • Supporting me in gaining confidence in using public transport.
  • Ensuring that the places are not too crowded or noisy (when my hearing is bad)
  • Assisting me to participate in certain activities i.e. bowling, swimming
  • Guiding me when we are out and about, making sure I am safe
  • Assisting me to find places to visit, book hotels etc.
  • Supporting me with light domestic tasks
  • Supporting with shopping and budgeting
  • Meal preparation.
  • At home, sitting with me if we don’t go out
  • Helping me to dry my hair
  • Sitting in the bathroom whilst I have a bath or shower
  • Keeping me safe at all times
  • Reminding me to do my physio
  • Going to shows with me

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • A person who is dependable and arrives on time.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home.
  • Someone who is able to commit to the job
  • Someone with a good sense of humour
  • Someone who likes pets
  • Someone with a mature attitude
  • Someone who can drive (car owner essential)
  • Experience not essential as training will be given

ABOUT THE JOB

Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted. A trial period of 6 months will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

TRAINING

The position is subject to references and a DBS check. You will also be required to attend any other relevant courses that are appropriate to this position.