Please quote job reference DP1199 on the application from. Apply now

JOB DESCRIPTION

 Personal Assistant

A LITTLE ABOUT MYSELF

I’m 59 years old, born and raised in Merthyr Tydfil. I married my husband in 1983 and we have raised 3 children. I identify as disabled after my legs were amputated (2005 and 2009) and I have to use a wheelchair to get about. I have asthma and insulin-controlled diabetes. Over time my eyesight has deteriorated significantly, and I am waiting for surgery to restore my vision. I also have Charles Bonnet syndrome, which means I sometimes see things that aren’t really there, and this can make me feel anxious and scared. I have been in hospital since last October and a lot has happened since then. When I leave hospital next I will be moving into the new extra care facility in Pontypridd. My social worker has arranged a package of care for me so carers will support me with personal care, medication and so on and I’ll also have input from the district nursing team and my diabetes nurse. I’m looking forward to leaving hospital and settling into my new flat with my husband, my dog and my cockatiel. I understand the facility offers me opportunities to socialise with other residents there, but because I can barely see anything I’ll need someone with me to navigate around the facility and reassure me so that I feel safe. I might choose to stay in my flat in which case I will need someone to help with practical things like preparing me something to eat and drink, help me access and return from using the toilet. Over time I hope to regain my confidence so I can access the wider community and will need someone to accompany me into town or to the local shops. I have a really good sense of humour and like to laugh. Losing my vision means I can’t do things I enjoy like crocheting or watching TV. I love listening to music and find it comforting, and my favourite artist is Adele.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

The main purpose of the job will be accompanying me to access the community including going shopping and familiarising myself to a new environment. There may be other activities I might want to explore and will need your support with this. At the moment however, it’s important to me that we develop a rapport and a trusting relationship because until I have surgery to restore my vision, I’m unlikely to venture away from the facility unless my husband accompanies me.

HOURS OF WORK

6 hours per week – your flexibility will be advantageous.

RATES OF PAY

£11.00   per hour

TASKS CAN INCLUDE

 

  • Ensuring I am safe and protected from harm at all times.
  • Driving my mobility car when we go out – you will need a full UK driving license - experience of transporting a wheelchair user will be advantageous.
  • Accompanying me to access local facilities and shops
  • Staying with me should I choose to stay at home – help me with meals, drinks and getting about.
  • Help me explore local opportunities including groups and interest locally.
  • Supporting me getting in and out of my mobility car in my wheelchair.

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

 

  • You will be friendly and chatty, with a good sense of humour. You won’t need airs and graces around me as I’d much rather you just be yourself as this will help me do the same.
  • Sometimes I need a lot of reassurance so you will need to be patient, understanding and non-judgemental.
  • You will need to be flexible with your time – we can negotiate your working hours to suit both our needs.
  • You should be a good listener and have a mature approach and outlook on life.
  • You will understand the importance of privacy and confidentiality and be respectful of my home and belongings.
  • Ideally you will be an animal lover like me – animal welfare is very important to me, and I have pets so you will need to be comfortable having animals around you when you visit me.
  • Ideally you will have experience of supporting people with disabilities, be able to follow instructions, apply common sense with problem solving to always ensure my safety.

 

ABOUT THE JOB

 

Employment is subject to standard processes including PAYE and contributions to income tax and national insurance. Employment will be offered pending satisfactory references and DBS check. I can offer you a 6-month trial period to begin with. Wages will be paid by monthly BACS transfer arranged by Dewis Centre for Independent Living. You will receive appropriate holidays, holiday pay and access to a pension scheme if required.