Quote REF: DP1338 On Application Form Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a disabled man in my thirties living in the Pontyclun area with my family. I have several disabilities Microcephaly, Quadriplegia, Cerebral Palsy and epilepsy. I am partially deaf and with my sight I only have light and dark perception, I am also gastronomy fed.  This means I am totally dependent on the support and assistance of others for my everyday needs.

I love listening to music especially if someone can play a musical instrument; I also enjoy people reading to me. I enjoy trips out of the home going to Roath Park, Penarth, Barry or occasionally Bristol Zoo.


We are looking to employ two personal assistants to be a part of a team to support and assist me both at home and out in the community. This allows my main carers to have some assistance and respite.

The tasks will involve support and assistance with my every day needs regarding all aspects of personal care, with feeding and drinking. Also some domestic tasks relevant to the role such as laundry and taking me out in the community.


There are approximately 25 hours per week for each personal assistant.

The hours of work will be Monday to Friday and there will be a minimum of 5 hours a day worked between the hours of 9am and 4pm.

These hours can be worked with some flexibly in agreement with each other.    

Please state on your application form the days and hours you may be available.      


£8.91 per hour 


  • All aspects of personal care.
  • Using a hoist to transfer for personal care (training will be given), continence management, bathing, going to bed.
  • Brushing my hair.
  • Getting me dressed.
  • Feeding me.
  • Some physiotherapy, massage, stretching exercises to my arms, legs and back, also applying moisturiser to help with circulation and stimulation.
  • Changing my bed twice a week.
  • Domestic task, laundry, ironing some light cleaning duties such as cleaning my bathroom and bedroom.
  • Sitting and keeping me company, reading to me and listening to the television or music.
  • Stimulating and interacting with me using the musical instruments I have.
  • Taking me out into the community when possible.


  • A person who is willing to undertake personal care tasks in a discreet and confident manner.
  • A friendly, sociable person with a good sense of humour.
  • Someone who is flexible and willing to cover extra hours on occasions.
  • Some one who is willing to take me out socially when required.
  • A dependable and punctual person with a positive approach to disabled people.
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home as this is a family home.
  • Someone who has hoist experience an advantage but not essential as training will be given
  • A person who is willing to complete any further training required such as epilepsy awareness and moving and handling training.
  • Someone who is able to work in a home with animals as we have a dog.
  • My family take me away for 1 week every year so you will be required to use 1 week of your annual leave at this time.


This will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance. The wage will be paid four weekly via Bacs transmission and a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive appropriate holidays and holiday pay.

This post is subject to an enhanced police check (DBS) and suitable references. The relevant checks will be carried out to ensure any applicant has the right to work in the UK