Please quote job reference DP1456 on the application. Apply now


Personal Assistant


I am a lady in my 30's living in the Treforest area of Pontypridd.  I have been diagnosed with Non-Epileptic Attack Disorder. It is a neurological condition, which can cause sudden drop seizures. As a result, bumps to the head during my seizures have caused some mild brain damage, which affects my memory and balance at times. I am an outgoing, chatty and sociable person, although sometimes I do experience anxiety & depression. My interests include; creative activities, computer gaming, shopping, swimming and trips to the cinema (to name but a few). I now have a Chihuahua puppy, which would be with me full time, as she will be trained to be my therapy and seizure dog.


The purpose of the job is to enable me to access the community with the support of someone who can look out for my safety and wellbeing.  Occasionally you will be required to support me with tasks at home. This job is to provide cover for my current PA.


Usually out in the community.

Sometimes in my home.


10 hours per week (daytime hours).

Usually split into 2 or 3 shifts per week. 

Days and times to be mutually agreed between you and I.


£9.50 per hour

Travel expenses paid at £0.40 per mile.


  • Taking me out and about in your car (If you drive)
  • Accompanying me to leisure activities of my choice
  • Suggesting new activities and places to go
  • Ensuring my safety and wellbeing, should I experience a seizure or cardiac arrest whilst we are out
  • On the odd occasion where I am not feeling up to going out, we may do something at home instead
  • Occasionally supporting me to spend time with my daughter.
  • Supporting me to batch cook and prep meals for days I don’t feel well.
  • To accompany me to appointments
  • The occasional domestic task that I find difficult or if I feel unwell.


  • Someone friendly, outgoing and open minded
  • Somebody patient and understanding
  • Someone who can stay calm and reassure me when I have a seizure.
  • Experience of seizures / the Health and Social Sector / 1st Aid training would be an advantage but not essential as full support and guidance will be provided to the successful applicant.
  • The ability to work on own initiative and suggest new activities for us to do together.
  • The job requires the successful applicant to be flexible with their working hours on times. (This will always be mutually agreed)
  • Someone dependable and reliable with good time keeping skills
  • A full clean driving license and use of own car is desirable.
  • Someone who is comfortable around animals as I have 2 cats, pet Rats and may be getting a seizure dog in the near future
  • Female preferred as there may be an element of support needed for personal care occasionally.


Though a part-time job, this will be a proper job requiring a National Insurance number to be submitted.  A trial period will be necessary in the first instance.  The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living.  You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata). You may be required to apply for a DBS check at no expense to you.

Thank you.