Please quote job reference DP1596 on the application. Apply now

Job Description


I am a man in my late-60s living at home in Penywaun. I am sociable, have a good sense of humour and enjoy interacting with family, friends and neighbours. I am still mobile and enjoy daily walks however my mobility has decreased somewhat but keeping active benefits me. I was diagnosed with a stroke and vascular dementia a couple of years ago and this is causing some challenges with organising my day to day activities.


Although I have family support, I am looking for a Temporary personal assistant to provide them with some respite and allow me to continue to enjoy living in my own home.

A PA will also help me organise and manage my house and garden.

I have lost the confidence to do some of the things I previously enjoyed both because of my memory problems and because I have not been able to carry on with my usual routine over the last year. I need the support of a PA to re-establish a routine that will bring back some enjoyment into my life.


   Temporary Maternity Cover.  

17.5 hours a week. 7 days a week hours and times flexible

  • Half an hour in the morning for planning and medication, and
  • Two hours later in the day to assist with planned activities both in the home and out and about. The restoring of confidence is essential to my well-being especially as more post-Covid19 activities become available to us.


£10.50 an hour.


  • Ensure safety.
  • Plan daily activities (e.g., cleaning, organisation, gardening, shopping).
  • Prompt me to take my medication.
  • Assist with completion of planned activities later in the day.
  • Help keep in touch with family, friends and neighbours. This will require supervised practice with appropriate technology.
  • As services reopen, help reconnect with groups focused on activities enjoyed before the pandemic. Encourage me to take on new activities and reverse my social isolation.
  • Walks in the local area.
  • Shopping as required.
  • Assistance with dressing and undressing.



  • Male due to personal care
  • Someone with a positive outlook who will encourage and reassure.
  • Trustworthy, reliable and responsible
  • Considerate and caring
  • Sociable
  • Experience dealing with dementia is preferred
  • Driver/vehicle owner with required documentation



Although this is a part-time job, it requires a National Insurance number to be submitted. A family member will be the legal employer and a trial period will be required. You will be required to apply for an enhanced DBS check at no expense to you. The wage will be paid monthly on return of a payslip provided by the Centre for Independent Living. You will receive 5.6 weeks paid holiday (pro rata).  References required.